5 games overscored by reviewers: The worst of the best...

Anything to do with games at all.
User avatar
KK
Moderator
Joined in 2008
Location: Botswana
Contact:

PostRe: 5 games overscored by reviewers: The worst of the best..
by KK » Sun Nov 27, 2011 1:20 pm

I did think Perfect Dark HD wasn't very good, but I was actually talking about this review:

Image

Written by a very mysterious 'Justin Thyme'. Funnily enough, I've never read anything from him before or since. In fact I'm not even sure he exists.

Nice cover though.

Image
User avatar
Rapidly-Greying
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Kelty, scotland
Contact:

PostRe: 5 games overscored by reviewers: The worst of the best..
by Rapidly-Greying » Sun Nov 27, 2011 8:25 pm

Cuttooth wrote:Galaxy 2 is more overrated than the first game, but both show how as a games developer Nintendo has sort of plateaued.


I.....have. . . . ....no... . ....words... . . :mrgreen:

Surely this troll deserves an instaban :P in fact no,let him stay as my prozac has yet to kick in :shock:

Rapidly-greying is SHITE at games
User avatar
Cuttooth
Moderator
Joined in 2008

PostRe: 5 games overscored by reviewers: The worst of the best..
by Cuttooth » Sun Nov 27, 2011 8:28 pm

They pushed the envelope more with their Gamecube output.

User avatar
Fade
Member
Joined in 2011
Location: San Junipero

PostRe: 5 games overscored by reviewers: The worst of the best..
by Fade » Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:21 pm

GTA4 should be on there.

Image
User avatar
Nanook
Member
Joined in 2008
AKA: Level_7_Boss

PostRe: 5 games overscored by reviewers: The worst of the best..
by Nanook » Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:29 pm

Going back a bit here:

James Pond 2: Robocod. 95% in Mean Machines. It was no where near that good. Eternal Champions as well - 95%.

I bought both when I was a kid; luckily these days many gamers are a bit older, the web has plenty of reviews etc so we're not getting lied to as much. strawberry floating 95 percent bastards, probably got a free pint of a PR 'guru'.

...like the Driv3rgate scandal, I bet it was widespread practise back in the early 90s.

User avatar
PuppetBoy
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: 5 games overscored by reviewers: The worst of the best..
by PuppetBoy » Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:38 pm

I vaguely remember one of the "less-good" N64 mags (it might have been 64 magazine, or maybe Total 64) giving Tom & Jerry Fists of Furry about 95%.

Nintendo Offical Magazine back in those days seemed to give about two games 90%+ every week as well. Anything under 80% from them was a bad score. Honestly.

Image
User avatar
secretninja87
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Scotland

PostRe: 5 games overscored by reviewers: The worst of the best..
by secretninja87 » Mon Nov 28, 2011 12:02 am

Fade wrote:GTA4 should be on there.


i suppose everyone has their opinion but i genuinely feel that GTA4 was a fantastic game that deserved it's high scores. I played that game to death. I loved it.
On the other hand, for example, i know everyone else loved Oblivion. But personally i thought it was one of the most overrated games of this generation. This topic is going to divide opinion completely because no one shares the same opinions

Image
Image
User avatar
TheTurnipKing
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: 5 games overscored by reviewers: The worst of the best..
by TheTurnipKing » Mon Nov 28, 2011 5:35 am

secretninja87 wrote:
Fade wrote:GTA4 should be on there.


i suppose everyone has their opinion but i genuinely feel that GTA4 was a fantastic game that deserved it's high scores. I played that game to death. I loved it.
On the other hand, for example, i know everyone else loved Oblivion. But personally i thought it was one of the most overrated games of this generation. This topic is going to divide opinion completely because no one shares the same opinions

To be honest, I think GTA IV deserves it's scores simply on technical merit as much as anything else. Few other publishers have produced anything that even bears comparison. The Elder Scrolls/Fallout series perhaps.

secretninja87 wrote:On the other hand, for example, i know everyone else loved Oblivion. But personally i thought it was one of the most overrated games of this generation.

I didn't enjoy Oblivion personally, but I think it's clearly obvious that it's a meritorius game experience, even if it's not one I want to play myself.

User avatar
YouSmellOfWee
Member
Joined in 2008
AKA: Wuijibobo

PostRe: 5 games overscored by reviewers: The worst of the best..
by YouSmellOfWee » Mon Nov 28, 2011 5:42 am

Nanook wrote:Going back a bit here:

James Pond 2: Robocod. 95% in Mean Machines. It was no where near that good.



If Zelda Skyward Sword on the gamecube is a 9-9.5/10, then so's Robocod.

User avatar
Rik
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: 5 games overscored by reviewers: The worst of the best..
by Rik » Mon Nov 28, 2011 7:29 pm

Perfect Dark Zero was really good online, infection mode with loads of players was a right laugh.

Campaign wasn't great but it was ok for a launch game.

Neogaf: Riky
User avatar
chalkitdown
Member
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Cork

PostRe: 5 games overscored by reviewers: The worst of the best..
by chalkitdown » Mon Nov 28, 2011 7:48 pm

Being a launch title doesn't excuse a bad game.

User avatar
Rik
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: 5 games overscored by reviewers: The worst of the best..
by Rik » Mon Nov 28, 2011 7:49 pm

It wasn't bad , just not as good as everyone hoped. Probably because it was rushed for launch and was an Xbox game first.

Neogaf: Riky
User avatar
chalkitdown
Member
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Cork

PostRe: 5 games overscored by reviewers: The worst of the best..
by chalkitdown » Mon Nov 28, 2011 7:50 pm

It was PRETTY bad.

HSH28
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: 5 games overscored by reviewers: The worst of the best..
by HSH28 » Mon Nov 28, 2011 7:53 pm

Rik wrote:Perfect Dark Zero was really good online, infection mode with loads of players was a right laugh.

Campaign wasn't great but it was ok for a launch game.


It really wasn't.

All you needed to do was play Call of Duty 2 and you'd see just how much of an embarrassment of a game PD0 was.

User avatar
KK
Moderator
Joined in 2008
Location: Botswana
Contact:

PostRe: 5 games overscored by reviewers: The worst of the best..
by KK » Mon Nov 28, 2011 8:29 pm

According to the oxm website, the review of PD0 was actually written by Andrew Taylor ('Justin Thyme' - Just In Time?), who is - according to C&VG - Future's "Technology Developer".

*Raised eyebrow*

Image
User avatar
kommissarboris
Member
Joined in 2009
Location: belfast

PostRe: 5 games overscored by reviewers: The worst of the best..
by kommissarboris » Mon Nov 28, 2011 8:42 pm

PsychicSykes wrote:
glowy69 wrote:
kommissarboris wrote:any reviewer that gave gears 3 a review of more than 2 is insane.

awful, simply awful.

You're insane

Glowy knows the score. 8-)


glowy knows strawberry float all, the game is garbage.

The oppressed are allowed once every few years to decide which particular representatives of the oppressing class are to represent and repress them in parliament.

Image
User avatar
YouSmellOfWee
Member
Joined in 2008
AKA: Wuijibobo

PostRe: 5 games overscored by reviewers: The worst of the best..
by YouSmellOfWee » Mon Nov 28, 2011 8:52 pm

Rik wrote:Perfect Dark Zero was really good online, infection mode with loads of players was a right laugh.

Campaign wasn't great but it was ok for a launch game.


Infection mode was genius. Everything else, not so much. Except for Radar Mimic.

User avatar
PsychicSykes
Emeritus
Emeritus
Joined in 2008
Location: Sykes Stadium

PostRe: 5 games overscored by reviewers: The worst of the best..
by PsychicSykes » Tue Nov 29, 2011 12:06 am

kommissarboris wrote:
PsychicSykes wrote:
glowy69 wrote:
kommissarboris wrote:any reviewer that gave gears 3 a review of more than 2 is insane.

awful, simply awful.

You're insane

Glowy knows the score. 8-)


glowy knows strawberry float all, the game is garbage.

Oh I'm sorry, I thought your review of the game in the other thread was a parody, what with you expecting Oscar worthy performances from the videogame equivilant of The Expendables, referring to a non-existent enemy race ("Levenant") and generally slagging off Gears for being Gears. It's like playing Super Mario World and complaining about the lack of gore. While we're on the subject though, I have to say you seem to have encountered an abnormally large number of glitches while playing co-op, do you think that might have been a problem with your net connection to your co-op partner?

dftaylor
Member
Joined in 2011

PostRe: 5 games overscored by reviewers: The worst of the best..
by dftaylor » Tue Nov 29, 2011 12:26 am

LA Noire makes me think of Heavy Rain. Basically they fail in both their aspirations...

If they're all about story, they're pretty average, silly convoluted stories. Lower grade than many b-movies. They rely on coincidence and convenience rather than telling a proper coherent story. And the conclusions to both are woeful.

Then you look at the game and, broadly, the mechanics are lousy too. Wooly controls, weird platforming sections, awkward combat and completely intrusive combat.

So they don't manage to.do either well. That said, I liked noire somewhat, even if I sold it right after completing it.

User avatar
kommissarboris
Member
Joined in 2009
Location: belfast

PostRe: 5 games overscored by reviewers: The worst of the best..
by kommissarboris » Tue Nov 29, 2011 12:52 am

PsychicSykes wrote: I have to say you seem to have encountered an abnormally large number of glitches while playing co-op, do you think that might have been a problem with your net connection to your co-op partner?


doubt it, as he's usually sitting next to me :shifty:

The oppressed are allowed once every few years to decide which particular representatives of the oppressing class are to represent and repress them in parliament.

Image

Return to “Games”