A Review of DIZZY on the Spectrum

Anything to do with games at all.
User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostA Review of DIZZY on the Spectrum
by kerr9000 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 8:31 am




A review of Dizzy on the Spectrum in which I talk about the little egg fellow, his first game and give a quick idea of what was going on in 1987 the year he first arrived. I was spurred on to get this out the door by the fact people here seemed to like my other older game reviews.

http://kerr9000.blogspot.co.uk/ For my Blog... https://www.youtube.com/user/kerr9000 for my YouTube channel. kerr9000_blog on Instagram. kerr9000 on Xbox, PS4 etc
User avatar
Lee Carvallo's Putting Challenge
Member
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: A Review of DIZZY on the Spectrum
by Lee Carvallo's Putting Challenge » Thu Nov 29, 2018 9:00 am

Will watch later.

Odd Job Eddie review please!

| (•_•)| S: This is the best date I've been on since my last date. PB: This is not a date.
S: Neither was the last one. It was a robbery. M: Really? S: Yeah. She stole my heart. And my crown. (❍ᴥ❍ʋ)
User avatar
Chestnut Snowleaves
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Leicestershire

PostRe: A Review of DIZZY on the Spectrum
by Chestnut Snowleaves » Thu Nov 29, 2018 9:02 am

Dizzy! :wub:

jawafour wrote:You definitely have the biggest one, mhtl - it's strawberry-floatin' massive!
User avatar
speedboatchase
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: A Review of DIZZY on the Spectrum
by speedboatchase » Thu Nov 29, 2018 9:05 am

There's a four-page feature on Fantasy World Dizzy in the new RetroGamer.

User avatar
Vermi-Claus
Member
Joined in 2018
Location: Everywhere
Contact:

PostRe: A Review of DIZZY on the Spectrum
by Vermi-Claus » Thu Nov 29, 2018 9:31 am

That Spectrum loading sound takes me back.

My first Dizzy game was Treasure Island.

User avatar
Gemini73
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: A Review of DIZZY on the Spectrum
by Gemini73 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 10:11 am

Great review. Watching that loading screen really kicked in the nostalgia.

I remember buying this, on my way home from school, from an independent pharmacy in my home town that used to sell the budget range of games for Specy, Commodore and Amstrad. Seems so long ago.

One of those games was Feud on the Speccy. I think you should review that next. :D

“But I don't want to go among mad people,” Alice remarked. “Oh, you can't help that,” said the Cat: “we're all mad here".
User avatar
OrangeReindeer
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: A Review of DIZZY on the Spectrum
by OrangeReindeer » Thu Nov 29, 2018 10:15 am

Man I should really play Dizzy

User avatar
Eat it Harvey
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: The Dark And Lonely Regions, Where Nobody Goes.
Contact:

PostRe: A Review of DIZZY on the Spectrum
by Eat it Harvey » Thu Nov 29, 2018 11:15 am

I was actually playing a little bit of Dizzy on the Amiga last night. Those games are so very much products of their time and ridiculously unforgiving. But still they have such a charm about them. Would love to see a modern Dizzy game with the same mechanics.

Check out some of our stuff!
Image Image Image

JOIN OUR MINECRAFT REALM HERE!
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... sp=sharing
User avatar
Partridge Iciclebubbles
"Special"
Joined in 2008

PostRe: A Review of DIZZY on the Spectrum
by Partridge Iciclebubbles » Thu Nov 29, 2018 11:39 am

The first game I remember buying was Magicland Dizzy. :wub:

User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: A Review of DIZZY on the Spectrum
by kerr9000 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 11:54 am

I am glad to see people enjoying the video, I will do more and will look at games people suggest but that one took the better part of a whole day, so as we move into december and my work load increases i am not likely to do that much ( I have been off the last sort of week so thats helped).

http://kerr9000.blogspot.co.uk/ For my Blog... https://www.youtube.com/user/kerr9000 for my YouTube channel. kerr9000_blog on Instagram. kerr9000 on Xbox, PS4 etc
User avatar
Vermi-Claus
Member
Joined in 2018
Location: Everywhere
Contact:

PostRe: A Review of DIZZY on the Spectrum
by Vermi-Claus » Thu Nov 29, 2018 2:38 pm

I also remember Fantasy World Dizzy, but my 8 year old self could never figure out how to escape the dungeon room :(

Magicland Dizzy was great, the Spectrum theme tune was so damn catchy, even now it pops into my head from time to time.



Same goes for Fast Food...


User avatar
Sleighamorph
Member ♥
Joined in 2010

PostRe: A Review of DIZZY on the Spectrum
by Sleighamorph » Thu Nov 29, 2018 2:50 pm

Oh man I had Treasure Island Dizzy on the Atari ST.
Unfortunately I was about 6 and couldn't get my head around it when the only games I was used to were platformers.

It definitely looked pretty and I remember liking it, but I was awful at playing it.

Lagamorph's Underwater Photography Thread
Zellery wrote:Good post Lagamorph.
Turboman wrote:Lagomorph..... Is ..... Right
User avatar
Jam-Master Jay
Member
Joined in 2008
AKA: Lord Hypnos
Location: Stourbridge
Contact:

PostRe: A Review of DIZZY on the Spectrum
by Jam-Master Jay » Thu Nov 29, 2018 3:14 pm

Still got my Spectrum and games in a box in the loft. Dizzy. :wub:

Image
User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: A Review of DIZZY on the Spectrum
by kerr9000 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 3:27 pm

Jam-Master Jay wrote:Still got my Spectrum and games in a box in the loft. Dizzy. :wub:


I still have a few hundred spectrum games then a bunch of loose spectrums including a ZX81, 48k rubber keys, a +2 and a +3. I also have a boxed +2 complete which happens to be the exact same pack I got one Christmas.

I am very happy to see such appreciation for the system and for little Dizzy

http://kerr9000.blogspot.co.uk/ For my Blog... https://www.youtube.com/user/kerr9000 for my YouTube channel. kerr9000_blog on Instagram. kerr9000 on Xbox, PS4 etc
NickSCFC
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: A Review of DIZZY on the Spectrum
by NickSCFC » Thu Nov 29, 2018 4:47 pm

Image

User avatar
Gemini73
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: A Review of DIZZY on the Spectrum
by Gemini73 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:32 pm

kerr9000 wrote:I still have a few hundred spectrum games then a bunch of loose spectrums including a ZX81, 48k rubber keys, a +2 and a +3. I also have a boxed +2 complete which happens to be the exact same pack I got one Christmas.




I used to like you.


;)

“But I don't want to go among mad people,” Alice remarked. “Oh, you can't help that,” said the Cat: “we're all mad here".
User avatar
Vermi-Claus
Member
Joined in 2018
Location: Everywhere
Contact:

PostRe: A Review of DIZZY on the Spectrum
by Vermi-Claus » Thu Nov 29, 2018 6:44 pm

I lost my Spectrum +2 when i moved house, it still worked too :(

User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: A Review of DIZZY on the Spectrum
by kerr9000 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 8:04 pm

Vermilion wrote:I lost my Spectrum +2 when i moved house, it still worked too :(


Sorry to hear that chap.... Mine worked the last time I tried it, they can need retuning and stuff but by and large I find them to be quiet good hardware. I tend to emulate more so I don't run the risk of tapes getting ate etc

http://kerr9000.blogspot.co.uk/ For my Blog... https://www.youtube.com/user/kerr9000 for my YouTube channel. kerr9000_blog on Instagram. kerr9000 on Xbox, PS4 etc
User avatar
Vermi-Claus
Member
Joined in 2018
Location: Everywhere
Contact:

PostRe: A Review of DIZZY on the Spectrum
by Vermi-Claus » Thu Nov 29, 2018 8:11 pm

I think i might still have some of my games actually, i'm pretty sure i found them in one of my boxes since said house move (in fact, now i think of it, i videoed one of them when i first started doing youtube full time so they'll definitely be hiding in a box somewhere in here).

EDIT: Found it.



I also have a bunch of old Amiga games too.

User avatar
Wedgie
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: A Review of DIZZY on the Spectrum
by Wedgie » Thu Nov 29, 2018 9:31 pm

Dizzy!

I completed Treasure Island... I thought so, until I arrived at the pier and the bastard there said I need a set amount of coins to get pass. I only need two more and off I go back to the Island.

And I died.

Fffffff.

Image

Denster wrote:My phone messaged me yesterday after i'd encouraged him to download and play the RESi demo.


Super Intelligent Phones Are Here!!!! We are dooooomed!

Return to “Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Godzilla, HSH28, Kanbei, Mafro, mic, PaperMacheMario, Peter Crisp, Red 5 stella, Ste, Trelliz and 53 guests