Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well

Anything to do with games at all.
User avatar
Saint of Killers
Member
Member
Joined in 2008

PostCeleste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by Saint of Killers » Fri Jan 26, 2018 11:22 am





Will definitely pick this up at some point. Only reason I'm not getting it now is I've yet to complete Shovel Knight, which is yet another excellent platformer. (With oodles of ridiculously good content.)

| (•_•)| S: This is the best date I've been on since my last date. PB: This is not a date.
S: Neither was the last one. It was a robbery. M: Really? S: Yeah. She stole my heart. And my crown. (❍ᴥ❍ʋ)
User avatar
OrangeRKN
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by OrangeRKN » Fri Jan 26, 2018 12:29 pm

I bought this last night on Switch, and I'm super impressed.

Take the addictively difficult one-more-attempt platforming design of VVVVVV or Super Meatboy, introduce the satisfyingly thumpy air dashing from Matt Makes Games previous hit Towerfall Ascension, and then expertly weave in a genuinely interesting mystery, the kind usually told in more narrative focused titles like Life is Strange or Until Dawn. That's Celeste, and it's brilliant.

Celeste was originally made for the "fantasy console" PICO-8, but this is a full re-imagining of the game, not just an enhanced port. In fact, Celeste classic (as the original title is now called) can be found hidden away in the game as an unlockable secret. I hadn't played the classic version until I came across it in this way, but I took away two things from playing it - the classic game still holds up as an excellent game on its own, and this new Celeste is even better.

Like the games it will inevitably be compared to, Celeste is hard, but never unfair. You will die - lots - but it never gets frustrating. Every death is feedback to better train your muscle memory, every screen a new challenge that ends with your eventual glorious triumph. It feels good.

It's not just about pure platforming ability though. Often the obstacles laid out ahead of you feel like a puzzle, and seeing the way through alone is half the challenge. Combined with the character driven narrative and mystery of the mountain, this game is as much cerebral as it is dexterous. And that's what sets it apart from those games that have come before it such as VVVVVV or Super Meatboy. Celeste is breaking new ground for the genre, and it does so masterfully.

Pls buy it it's good

User avatar
rinks
Member
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Aboard the train that goes around the world

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by rinks » Fri Jan 26, 2018 12:34 pm

Does it have an easy mode?

Loves us all since 2008
User avatar
OrangeRKN
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by OrangeRKN » Fri Jan 26, 2018 12:44 pm

rinks wrote:Does it have an easy mode?


It has an Assist Mode

I have no idea what it does

User avatar
rinks
Member
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Aboard the train that goes around the world

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by rinks » Fri Jan 26, 2018 12:49 pm

OrangeRakoon wrote:
rinks wrote:Does it have an easy mode?


It has an Assist Mode

I have no idea what it does


Hopefully it appeases the Cuphead whingers.

Loves us all since 2008
User avatar
OrangeRKN
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by OrangeRKN » Fri Jan 26, 2018 12:54 pm

A lot of the more challenging sections are for collecting the optional extras too. I've been getting some of them, but less than half in every level. Partly because I gave up on some to come back to later, partly because I never found a lot of them.

I like how the game lets the player self-select difficulty in a way, as a lot of the extras to collect are bonuses on screens that you have to pass through, but become significantly harder if you try and collect the bonus at the same time.

User avatar
ITSMILNER
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: HUNTIN' DUCKS

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by ITSMILNER » Fri Jan 26, 2018 1:20 pm

Going to buy this tonight, been looking forward to it for a while and the reviews are really good (10/10 from the likes of IGN and Destructoid)

Image
HSH28
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by HSH28 » Fri Jan 26, 2018 5:15 pm

I want this on Switch, but its too expensive at the moment.

User avatar
ITSMILNER
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: HUNTIN' DUCKS

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by ITSMILNER » Sat Jan 27, 2018 10:51 pm

This game is so good, lovely the soundtrack, playing in handheld with headphones really gets you engrossed.

I would say it’s worth the £17,99, happy to support these devs, they should be bringing Towerfall over to Switch soon too!

Image
User avatar
Death's Head
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: RE: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by Death's Head » Sun Jan 28, 2018 9:51 am

Saint of Killers wrote:



Will definitely pick this up at some point. Only reason I'm not getting it now is I've yet to complete Shovel Knight, which is yet another excellent platformer. (With oodles of ridiculously good content.)
Is that really the PS4 version or the NES?

Yes?
User avatar
Saint of Killers
Member
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by Saint of Killers » Sun Jan 28, 2018 10:45 am

It's the Philips G7000 version.

Last edited by Saint of Killers on Sun Jan 28, 2018 10:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
| (•_•)| S: This is the best date I've been on since my last date. PB: This is not a date.
S: Neither was the last one. It was a robbery. M: Really? S: Yeah. She stole my heart. And my crown. (❍ᴥ❍ʋ)
User avatar
Poser
Banned
Joined in 2008
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne

PostRe: RE: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by Poser » Sun Jan 28, 2018 10:49 am

Death's Head wrote:
Saint of Killers wrote:



Will definitely pick this up at some point. Only reason I'm not getting it now is I've yet to complete Shovel Knight, which is yet another excellent platformer. (With oodles of ridiculously good content.)
Is that really the PS4 version or the NES?


Hi DH.

Image
User avatar
Saint of Killers
Member
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by Saint of Killers » Sun Jan 28, 2018 11:11 am

As if it matters what it looks like :lol: He'd not have bought it anywhere close to launch anyway.

| (•_•)| S: This is the best date I've been on since my last date. PB: This is not a date.
S: Neither was the last one. It was a robbery. M: Really? S: Yeah. She stole my heart. And my crown. (❍ᴥ❍ʋ)
User avatar
ITSMILNER
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: HUNTIN' DUCKS

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by ITSMILNER » Sun Jan 28, 2018 12:15 pm

It’s more 16-bit style rather than 8-bit but it looks/plays/sounds fantastic.

People shouldn’t judge games based on the graphical style

Image


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Image
User avatar
kazanova_Frankenstein
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by kazanova_Frankenstein » Sun Jan 28, 2018 12:56 pm

Picked this up today on Switch. Only played the first level so far but it seems really good. My god I’m awful at it though.

Image
User avatar
jawafour
Member
Member
Joined in 2012

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by jawafour » Sun Jan 28, 2018 1:16 pm

It does look to be a great game although I'm holding off at the present; mainly to keep my "cutting back on new games" period running but also because I have The End Is Nigh as a super-tough platformer to kick my backside at the moment :lol: .

User avatar
Winckle
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Liverpool

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by Winckle » Sun Jan 28, 2018 6:33 pm


User avatar
ITSMILNER
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: HUNTIN' DUCKS

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by ITSMILNER » Sun Jan 28, 2018 9:51 pm

Up to chapter 5 now, I’ve tinkered with the assist mode and made my air dash infinite as it was getting a bit tough getting round some sections. Love the game tho, the story is interesting as well


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Image
User avatar
OrangeRKN
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by OrangeRKN » Mon Jan 29, 2018 9:41 am

I finished this over the weekend, although I still have a ton of content to play. Played through my first B-side (from the second level) and that was tough but super satisfying. I am assuming I need to complete four B-sides to unlock the Core, so that's my next challenge!

My opinion if anything on this game has just got more positive. It's the most engrossing 2D platformer I've played in a long time, I love it :wub:

Also going back to the first level and finding it super easy is like 8-)

Winckle wrote:


That looks more difficult than the intended way of doing it :lol:

User avatar
ITSMILNER
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: HUNTIN' DUCKS

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by ITSMILNER » Tue Jan 30, 2018 8:04 am

I’m on chapter 6 at the moment, i can say without a doubt that this is the best game I’ve played so far this year! I just love everything about it

Must say though, I never expected the themes the story contains, I thought it was just going to be your usual barebones almost non-existent story but this actually a lot deeper than I realised.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Image

Return to “Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Frank, Kriken and 47 guests