Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well

Anything to do with games at all.
User avatar
OldSoulCyborg
Member
Joined in 2010

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by OldSoulCyborg » Tue Feb 20, 2018 8:47 pm

OrangeRakoon wrote:All 3 "levels" of the hints above refer to the same crystal heart - the one in the first level. I think cyborg meant them as progressively bigger hints


Yes, that's how I meant it to come across. I should have realized how easily it could be misunderstood when put like that. :fp:

Flickr
Wii U: StainyGrimes
deathofcows
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by deathofcows » Wed Feb 21, 2018 5:30 pm

OrangeRakoon wrote:
deathofcows wrote:
OldSoulCyborg wrote:
deathofcows wrote:Anyone want to give me a mysterious hint about solving the satellite puzzle on level 1? I'm getting nowhere, but suspect it's related to the B-Side/Crystal Heart.


Level 1 hint:
You've done this before, strangely enough.

Level 2 hint:
Several different ways.

Level 3 hint:
What are the birds doing?


Well that Is mysterious... But thanks! I'll take a re-re-re-look.

I've got level 2 Crystal Heart now. Level 3 I already had though maybe your hint is referring to something else...

Level 1 I've taken another gander and am still missing something. I've tried playing notes on my keyboard and everything...

I sense a major :fp: incoming when I realise.

Did you guys do it without prompt or hints?

P.S. Now got all the strawberries. This game :wub:


All 3 "levels" of the hints above refer to the same crystal heart - the one in the first level. I think cyborg meant them as progressively bigger hints


Oh gotcha!

I've now done it and feel a little silly for not working it out earlier. Sign of a good puzzle (ie. The problem was me, not the puzzle).

Still can't find the B-Side, mind. Seeing as I've found the rest and maxed out the strawberries I'm just assuming that I have a weird blind spot for level 1 textures or something.

User avatar
OrangeReindeer
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by OrangeReindeer » Wed Feb 21, 2018 5:48 pm

I ended up looking up the B-side location, it's easy to miss

deathofcows
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by deathofcows » Thu Feb 22, 2018 3:05 am

OrangeRakoon wrote:I ended up looking up the B-side location, it's easy to miss


After searching every nook and cranny of the second chapter of level 1 I looked it up. Turns out the cassette is in the third chapter (Chasm) but is labelled as greyed out for the second. Which 1) explains why I couldn't find it and 2) is rubbish and annoying. Thank god all the strawberries were correctly labelled.

User avatar
Jenu-All I Want For Christmas
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by Jenu-All I Want For Christmas » Sat Sep 15, 2018 10:54 pm

Finally put some proper time into this tonight after picking it up on Switch a few weeks back.

It wasn't clicking at first and everything felt too fiddly for my liking, but I think I just needed to give myself time to adapt to it's quirks. By the end of chapter 1 I was starting to get a good feel for it and was prepared to say that this is a good game. But now I've made some headway into chapter two and have just done the bit where you get chased by some bad version of yourself (?) and I have to reassess and admit that this game is amazing! :toot:

Once the controls and movement click it just feels so incredible to dash around these spaces, and the chase sequence just brought all of that into focus for me. If it carries on like this I can see myself rating this very highly when I'm through!

ImageImage
User avatar
OrangeReindeer
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by OrangeReindeer » Mon Sep 17, 2018 10:35 am

:wub:

Keep us updated! I think you'll only like it more as it goes on

User avatar
Caroller
Member
Joined in 2018
Location: Lord's

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by Caroller » Mon Sep 17, 2018 4:20 pm

Oh look, a Celeste thread. (gibbers)

I’m a big big fan, and I’m very glad yer chap Jenuall is getting into it. It’s not only the game that made me stop thinking that the 2D platformer was a tired dead genre, it’s also my favourite 2D platformer of all time. The marriage of gameplay, story, and aesthetics; the fact that a super-hard platformer can be encouraging rather than soul-crushing; the soundtrack, dear Lord the soundtrack...

i like dis gaem

GNamer admin.: visit your friendly neighbourhood affiliate!
Also I have a writing and music blog.
'Your lives that I spit upon are now but a caricature of a cartoon drawn by a kid who is stupid!'
User avatar
Jenu-All I Want For Christmas
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by Jenu-All I Want For Christmas » Mon Sep 17, 2018 11:10 pm

Making my way through Chapter 3 now and loving it. Just found the PICO-8, how can a game within a game be so addictive?! :lol:

ImageImage
User avatar
OrangeReindeer
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by OrangeReindeer » Mon Sep 17, 2018 11:35 pm

The PICO-8 version is the original, if you weren't aware. And yes it's great!

User avatar
Jenu-All I Want For Christmas
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by Jenu-All I Want For Christmas » Tue Sep 18, 2018 11:29 am

OrangeRKN wrote:The PICO-8 version is the original, if you weren't aware. And yes it's great!


Ah cool, I hadn't even realised there was an original version, that's a nice addition!

ImageImage
User avatar
OldSoulCyborg
Member
Joined in 2010

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by OldSoulCyborg » Sun Dec 09, 2018 1:02 pm

I started practicing speedrunning this game several months ago, chapter by chapter. After some time I kind of put it aside and forgot about it, never doing a speedrun of the whole game.
Until about two weeks ago when I made an attempt, beating the game in one hour and eighteen minutes (I was rusty and hadn't played the game in a while). I practiced my worst chapters the following week and then made another attempt: One hour and two minutes.

And now I've finally managed to beat the game in under an hour.
Image

Now the question is: Will I keep going, attempting sub-50?

Yes. Yes I will.

Flickr
Wii U: StainyGrimes
User avatar
OrangeReindeer
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by OrangeReindeer » Mon Dec 10, 2018 2:38 pm

Damn man that's impressive!

User avatar
OldSoulCyborg
Member
Joined in 2010

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by OldSoulCyborg » Mon Dec 10, 2018 3:35 pm

OrangeReindeer wrote:Damn man that's impressive!


Thanks! I'm really happy with my progress so far. I don't know how far I'll take it, but I'd love to have a sub-40 minute run at some point.

Flickr
Wii U: StainyGrimes
User avatar
OrangeReindeer
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by OrangeReindeer » Mon Dec 10, 2018 3:36 pm

In other news I learned about this Celeste merch today: https://www.fangamer.com/collections/celeste

That's some of the best gaming merch I've seen, especially the white T-shirt!

As I said in the Switch thread there is also a limited run games physical release on January 1st, although I am pretty sour on them for how quickly games get sold out and bought up by scalpers.

deathofcows
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by deathofcows » Mon Dec 10, 2018 10:33 pm

OrangeReindeer wrote:In other news I learned about this Celeste merch today: https://www.fangamer.com/collections/celeste

That's some of the best gaming merch I've seen, especially the white T-shirt!

As I said in the Switch thread there is also a limited run games physical release on January 1st, although I am pretty sour on them for how quickly games get sold out and bought up by scalpers.


The scarf is sold out and my heart is broken.

User avatar
Caroller
Member
Joined in 2018
Location: Lord's

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by Caroller » Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:34 am

Very tempted by the Reflection t-shirt indeed...

GNamer admin.: visit your friendly neighbourhood affiliate!
Also I have a writing and music blog.
'Your lives that I spit upon are now but a caricature of a cartoon drawn by a kid who is stupid!'

Return to “Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: andretmzt, chanticleer, Google [Bot], Krik Kringle, Lee Carvallo's Putting Challenge, Rax, Seven, Trelliz, Wedgie and 50 guests