Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well

Anything to do with games at all.
User avatar
Winckle
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Liverpool

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by Winckle » Tue Jan 30, 2018 8:32 am

Just finished the B side of chapter 1. Wow, this game is incredible.

User avatar
OrangeRKN
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by OrangeRKN » Tue Jan 30, 2018 11:24 am

ITSMILNER wrote:I’m on chapter 6 at the moment, i can say without a doubt that this is the best game I’ve played so far this year! I just love everything about it


:wub:

ITSMILNER wrote:Must say though, I never expected the themes the story contains, I thought it was just going to be your usual barebones almost non-existent story but this actually a lot deeper than I realised.


This is the most surprising thing about the game in the best way possible

Winckle wrote:Just finished the B side of chapter 1. Wow, this game is incredible.


I did this last night before sleeping, it was great. Two B-sides down now, and I've just read that there are C-sides oh my

User avatar
Winckle
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Liverpool

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by Winckle » Tue Jan 30, 2018 6:18 pm

From last night's run on Chapter 1-B.


User avatar
kazanova_Frankenstein
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by kazanova_Frankenstein » Tue Jan 30, 2018 8:34 pm

Winckle wrote:Just finished the B side of chapter 1. Wow, this game is incredible.


I have just done the same. My god some of those screens were nightmare fuel for me. But massively rewarding when you clear it. Glad I persevered as I almost gave up on what turned out to be the last screen before the Crystal Strawberry.
Great stuff. Think I will be resuming the main story now though. Chapter 5 awaits....

Image
User avatar
OldSoulCyborg
Member
Joined in 2010

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by OldSoulCyborg » Tue Jan 30, 2018 9:01 pm

Winckle wrote:From last night's run on Chapter 1-B.



Now I don't mean to brag - I say moments before doing that and only that - but I did the entire B-side in just over half that.

(Pro controller on a big screen, so if you were playing handheld maybe don't feel too bad ;) )

Flickr
Wii U: StainyGrimes
User avatar
kazanova_Frankenstein
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by kazanova_Frankenstein » Tue Jan 30, 2018 9:30 pm

OldSoulCyborg wrote:
Winckle wrote:From last night's run on Chapter 1-B.



Now I don't mean to brag - I say moments before doing that and only that - but I did the entire B-side in just over half that.

(Pro controller on a big screen, so if you were playing handheld maybe don't feel too bad ;) )


Took me an hour to clear that B side. I'm just proud of myself for managing it.

Image
User avatar
Ad7
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by Ad7 » Tue Jan 30, 2018 10:13 pm

That looks unbelievably frustrating.

User avatar
Saint of Killers
Member
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by Saint of Killers » Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:20 am

Winckle wrote:From last night's run on Chapter 1-B.



Looks satisfying af! Can't wait to try it.

| (•_•)| S: This is the best date I've been on since my last date. PB: This is not a date.
S: Neither was the last one. It was a robbery. M: Really? S: Yeah. She stole my heart. And my crown. (❍ᴥ❍ʋ)
User avatar
Cheeky Devlin
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: The Dark And Lonely Regions, Where Nobody Goes.
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by Cheeky Devlin » Wed Jan 31, 2018 9:17 am

Bought and started this last night and damn it's good. Tricky as hell, but it's got some great ideas so far. Looking forward to playing some more later on.

Though it has highlighted an issue I have with the Joycons again. The "D-Pad" is in a really awkward position to play this handheld so I end up using the L-Stick. Wouldn't be a problem, but the number of times I think I'm pressing right on the stick and then dash, only to do an up/left dash is stupid. I noticed it in Blaster Master as well where it wasn't too bad, but in this it results in a lot of otherwise avoidable deaths.

Really wish we had a D-Pad Joycon that we could use.

Check out some of our stuff!
Image Image Image

JOIN OUR MINECRAFT REALM HERE!
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... sp=sharing
User avatar
OrangeRKN
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by OrangeRKN » Wed Jan 31, 2018 9:33 am

Winckle wrote:From last night's run on Chapter 1-B.



You made that a fair bit harder than it needs to be! On the second horizontal with the small stone beneath it, you just need to drop onto it to get your dash back then jump and hang off the same side that's coming back at you. Then you jump-dash straight onto the next horizontal, and you're on the right side to pick up the recharge and carry on. None of that clinging to the side that goes into spikes necessary - although I'm impressed :lol:

Cheeky Devlin wrote:Though it has highlighted an issue I have with the Joycons again. The "D-Pad" is in a really awkward position to play this handheld so I end up using the L-Stick. Wouldn't be a problem, but the number of times I think I'm pressing right on the stick and then dash, only to do an up/left dash is stupid. I noticed it in Blaster Master as well where it wasn't too bad, but in this it results in a lot of otherwise avoidable deaths.


Yeah, I have been using analogue, the d-pad buttons are terrible. I've not had many problems with the analogue stick, but it's probably not the ideal.

User avatar
Ad7
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by Ad7 » Wed Jan 31, 2018 9:34 am

The dpad buttons are brilliant for platformers though. I'd go so far to say it's better than a proper dpad as there's zero chance of pressing a diagonal in the heat of the moment.

User avatar
OrangeRKN
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by OrangeRKN » Wed Jan 31, 2018 9:37 am

Ad7 wrote:The dpad buttons are brilliant for platformers though. I'd go so far to say it's better than a proper dpad as there's zero chance of pressing a diagonal in the heat of the moment.


You really need diagonals in Celeste, they are what I find really difficult with the buttons rather than a d-pad where its easy to press 2 directions at once (and rotate between them).

User avatar
Cheeky Devlin
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: The Dark And Lonely Regions, Where Nobody Goes.
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by Cheeky Devlin » Wed Jan 31, 2018 9:48 am

OrangeRakoon wrote:
Ad7 wrote:The dpad buttons are brilliant for platformers though. I'd go so far to say it's better than a proper dpad as there's zero chance of pressing a diagonal in the heat of the moment.


You really need diagonals in Celeste, they are what I find really difficult with the buttons rather than a d-pad where its easy to press 2 directions at once (and rotate between them).

Definitely.

Blaster Master was fine with the "D-Pad" but this definitely needs the precision a proper one provides. The L-Stick is fine, I just need to get used to it, but it's frustrating when I'm dying because it's not pressing in the direction that I think I am.

Check out some of our stuff!
Image Image Image

JOIN OUR MINECRAFT REALM HERE!
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... sp=sharing
User avatar
OrangeRKN
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by OrangeRKN » Sun Feb 04, 2018 12:52 pm

I beat the core last night after finishing my fourth B-side. Interesting new mechanics, although it felt weirdly easy following four B-sides :lol:

Now to find and beat the other B-sides. Other than the first level I also have no idea where any of the crystal hearts are (and I only got the first level's after looking up the solution, I tried completely the wrong things with the puzzle).

User avatar
OrangeRKN
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by OrangeRKN » Mon Feb 05, 2018 1:27 am

Just beat the Reflection B-side, including this screen



Now I can goddamn sleep

From the same B-side, sort of spoilery but this looks flashy as hell when you nail it:


User avatar
OrangeRKN
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by OrangeRKN » Wed Feb 07, 2018 11:02 am

Anyone still playing this?

So last night I did the final level's B-side (excluding the core which I cannot yet attempt as I need to find all the hidden crystal hearts).

It introduces a whole new platforming mechanic in the dash wall jump in the final five screens. One that has been possible the entire game but I never discovered. They waited until pretty much the final level of the bonus levels following completing the game to tell the player about this, and it changes completely what I thought was possible.


I was legit grinning at my screen from the sheer guts of it. This game is a masterpiece

User avatar
kazanova_Frankenstein
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by kazanova_Frankenstein » Wed Feb 07, 2018 2:10 pm

OrangeRakoon wrote:Anyone still playing this?



Yep. Finished the main game and
The Core
. I think i have more or less hit my skill ceiling though. I have completed Ch 1 and Ch 2 B-Sides, but Ch 3 B-Side is getting close to the wrong side of frustrating. Possibly i will round up a few more strawberries from time to time.

Fantastic game though, i have certainly got my monies worth from it.

Image
User avatar
OldSoulCyborg
Member
Joined in 2010

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by OldSoulCyborg » Wed Feb 07, 2018 5:36 pm

OrangeRakoon wrote:Anyone still playing this?


Yep. It's amazing. Done first 4 B-sides, found all blue crystal hearts (unless there's more than there seems).
No idea where/how to find (seriously major SPOILERS) gold strawberries and C-sides, but looking forward to spending hours more with the game to find out. A bit miffed I even found out about the existence of those things outside the game. Not going to spoil the rest of the fun by finding the solution online.

Flickr
Wii U: StainyGrimes
User avatar
OrangeRKN
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by OrangeRKN » Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:33 pm

OldSoulCyborg wrote:Done first 4 B-sides, found all blue crystal hearts (unless there's more than there seems).


Did you get all these yourself? I only have two, and had to look up the puzzle solutions for both. My memory is not good enough to have solved these without at least writing things down

User avatar
OldSoulCyborg
Member
Joined in 2010

PostRe: Celeste - Out now on consoles and PC - A game for fans of tricksy, clever platformers - Reviewed v well
by OldSoulCyborg » Wed Feb 07, 2018 10:13 pm

OrangeRakoon wrote:
OldSoulCyborg wrote:Done first 4 B-sides, found all blue crystal hearts (unless there's more than there seems).


Did you get all these yourself? I only have two, and had to look up the puzzle solutions for both. My memory is not good enough to have solved these without at least writing things down


Yeah. The one in the first chapter had me stumped for a while. Took me until my second playthrough of the chapter to figure it out. After figuring it out I had to write the sequence down, which came in handy later.

Flickr
Wii U: StainyGrimes

Return to “Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Godzilla, Kriken, Lime, OldSoulCyborg, Osito, PaperMacheMario, qupe, Rightey, Sandy and 65 guests