We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - 20hr story campaign, out on Friday. Reviews out now (p3)

Anything to do with games at all.
User avatar
OrangeRakoon
SONM Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - 20hr story campaign, out on Friday.
by OrangeRakoon » Tue Aug 07, 2018 11:11 am

In fairness the initial showing was a cinematic trailer that made it look like a story driven game, wasn't it? Then it suddenly got shown to be some sandbox survival game and it was very confusing.

I still don't know what this game has ended up becoming.

User avatar
The Watching Artist
Scrub
Joined in 2008

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - 20hr story campaign, out on Friday.
by The Watching Artist » Tue Aug 07, 2018 11:20 am

OrangeRakoon wrote:In fairness the initial showing was a cinematic trailer that made it look like a story driven game, wasn't it? Then it suddenly got shown to be some sandbox survival game and it was very confusing.

I still don't know what this game has ended up becoming.

Think is was both in that you had various "sandboxes" that you progressed through via some quests, which I assume dealt with the story, whilst you had to deal with survival mechanics. But the trailer that got everyone excited (omg its like Bioshock!) hid the survival stuff.

Image
User avatar
jawafour
Member
Member
Joined in 2012

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - 20hr story campaign, out on Friday.
by jawafour » Tue Aug 07, 2018 11:25 am

OrangeRakoon wrote:...I still don't know what this game has ended up becoming.

Yeah, I think that's the crux, Orange - it doesn't seem to be clear what it is. I guess I'm just a little bit concerned that this has turned from a promising "early access" game, several years ago, into something that is now being pushed out in £65 Deluxe Editions with a season pass. It feels like it is a intriguing curio that has gained a big publisher and is now being presented as an AAA blockbuster.

Edit: Perhaps I'm being a little too harsh. I guess we'll find out soon!

User avatar
Photek
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Dublin

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - 20hr story campaign, out on Friday.
by Photek » Tue Aug 07, 2018 12:24 pm

Several years ago? It was announced 2 years ago. :|

What exactly are you ‘concerned’ about? If it doesn’t review well then don’t be worried. I bought it for €20 in Preview and I’m getting full game, if Gearbox want to sell it at full price it’s on them wether it’s warranted.

Image
Grcades resident banana split.
User avatar
jawafour
Member
Member
Joined in 2012

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - 20hr story campaign, out on Friday.
by jawafour » Tue Aug 07, 2018 12:39 pm

Photek wrote:Several years ago? It was announced 2 years ago. :|

What exactly are you ‘concerned’ about? If it doesn’t review well then don’t be worried. I bought it for €20 in Preview and I’m getting full game, if Gearbox want to sell it at full price it’s on them wether it’s warranted.

Yeah, it released two years ago (July 2016) in early access. If you're getting the full game for twenty wraps, that sounds lke a good deal. My concern is that it's an indie title that has grown to be priced as an AAA title; that concern may be unwarranted if it turns out to be great :-).

User avatar
Fade
Member
Joined in 2011
Location: San Junipero

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - 20hr story campaign, out on Friday.
by Fade » Tue Aug 07, 2018 1:52 pm

I'd be happy to be proved wrong but this seems like no man's sky 2

Image
User avatar
Tafdolphin
Member
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - 20hr story campaign, out on Friday.
by Tafdolphin » Tue Aug 07, 2018 2:35 pm

OrangeRakoon wrote:In fairness the initial showing was a cinematic trailer that made it look like a story driven game, wasn't it? Then it suddenly got shown to be some sandbox survival game and it was very confusing.

I still don't know what this game has ended up becoming.


It's probably one of the worst marketing campaigns for a game since Evolve. After loving the initial teases of the thing, it then turned out the first trailers were massively misleading and it was in fact a story-free Rust-like survival game. Then it went quiet for ages before the E3 2018 story trailer, which screamed of "we have a cool aesthetic, let's shoehorn a SP campaign in there now MS have bought us."

The guys over at Waypoint had a play, also at E3, and came away wondering why the new content existed at all beyond profitability's sake. It was apparently a fascinating universe with nothing to say and little to no interesting/new gameplay. Still, happy to be proved wrong etc etc.

(Am very negative about the whole thing as it looked right up my street when it was announced.)

Gemini73 wrote:Yes your are a sanctimonious twat

Bloggy blog blog blog.

Night Call: a game what I worked on
User avatar
ITSMILNER
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: HUNTIN' DUCKS

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - 20hr story campaign, out on Friday.
by ITSMILNER » Tue Aug 07, 2018 10:08 pm

I’ll hold out till it bombs and goes for £15 but I liked what they showed at E3

Image
User avatar
Monkey Man
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - 20hr story campaign, out on Friday.
by Monkey Man » Thu Aug 09, 2018 1:14 pm

Reviews

Gamesradar - 4 out of 5

I'll play more polished, bigger and more bombastic blockbuster games this year, but We Happy Few will stay with me long after its quests are over.

https://www.gamesradar.com/we-happy-few ... -the-game/

Windows Central - 4.5 out of 5

Despite the performance issues, We Happy Few is a must-own title for any gamer who loves survival open world titles and quality world building. Unless your PC doesn't meet the minimum specifications (visible on the Steam page) there is no reason not to pick this fantastic game up as soon as possible.

https://www.windowscentral.com/we-happy ... -pc-review

Gameinformer - 7.75

While We Happy Few is dragged down by irritating missions, scarce-but-necessary resources, and technical blips from time to time, it’s a fun adventure that combines an eerie atmosphere and a gripping narrative to great effect.

https://www.gameinformer.com/review/we- ... e-comedown

Polygon - No score

Perhaps this is what makes We Happy Few so unusual. It is beautifully, carefully written. The words that come out of this game are better than anything I can recall in even the best narrative adventures. The script has clearly been elevated to a place of prime importance. It’s been honed by writers and actors working together to create a coherent universe that’s as frightening as any hellscape dreamed up in more lavish fantasies. If you’re looking for something out of the ordinary to play, you’ve found it.

https://www.polygon.com/2018/8/9/176691 ... windows-pc

Eurogamer - No score

After disliking We Happy Few in Early Access I was half-expecting to loathe it at launch, and there is a lot that I loathe about it: the lumpy brawling, the showers of trinkets that usually amount to nothing, the branching scenarios that only make you yearn for Dishonored's vertical mazes and chaining abilities. But for everything I dislike, there is an element of the universe and writing that grabs me by the ears. A series of damning jokes about Brutalism, that architectural aesthetic so beloved of dystopian storytellers. A series of quests that take the piss out of Macbeth. The use of quizshow formats and Simon Says to root out non-conformists. Uncle Jack's impersonation of Mary Queen of Scots. And above all, the way these shift and expand as you interrogate them from the perspectives of some very different people, in the course of an often deranged, but very serious and multi-faceted interrogation of history and hubris. I'm not sure the game is worth your time, but if you can find the time, you'll find much to ponder.

https://www.eurogamer.net/articles/2018 ... few-review

Shacknews - 8

Most of all, it's trying something new that we really haven't had much experience with, and to fantastic effect. If you're as terrified of a dystopian society as I am but also endlessly fascinated by it, then We Happy Few is for you. Just be sure not to forget your Joy! We wouldn't want you labeled as a Downer, now would we?

https://www.shacknews.com/article/10664 ... t-dystopia

ACG - Wait for Sale



http://www.metacritic.com/game/pc/we-happy-few

Image
User avatar
Peter Crisp
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - 20hr story campaign, out on Friday. Reviews out now (p3)
by Peter Crisp » Thu Aug 09, 2018 3:03 pm

Boomerang sent out the Xbox version of this for me today so I hope to give it a try this weekend.

jiggles wrote:Nobody with a VR headset is going to be using it regularly this time next year, let alone in 4 years time.


Posted 16th March 2016. Let's see.
User avatar
NickSCFC
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - 20hr story campaign, out on Friday. Reviews out now (p3)
by NickSCFC » Thu Aug 09, 2018 3:15 pm

5/10

https://www.destructoid.com/review-we-h ... 5988.phtml

We Happy Few is unique. It features gorgeous environments, great music, twisted humor, and a magnetic story. It deserves praise for those aesthetics. But the game is what matters, and it is lackluster in that regard, with bad combat, mundane stealth, and endless, frivolous mechanics. By choosing the fastidious "micro-management" path, We Happy Few distracts far too much from its true potential as a dystopian gaming classic. And that's the biggest downer of all.

Image Image
User avatar
Monkey Man
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - 20hr story campaign, out on Friday. Reviews out now (p3)
by Monkey Man » Thu Aug 09, 2018 4:11 pm


Image
User avatar
Jenuall
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - 20hr story campaign, out on Friday. Reviews out now (p3)
by Jenuall » Fri Aug 10, 2018 3:46 pm

NickSCFC wrote:5/10

https://www.destructoid.com/review-we-h ... 5988.phtml

We Happy Few is unique. It features gorgeous environments, great music, twisted humor, and a magnetic story. It deserves praise for those aesthetics. But the game is what matters, and it is lackluster in that regard, with bad combat, mundane stealth, and endless, frivolous mechanics. By choosing the fastidious "micro-management" path, We Happy Few distracts far too much from its true potential as a dystopian gaming classic. And that's the biggest downer of all.


I've not played the game, but I'm somewhat at odds with the position taken here.

I think there is scope for games with amazing art, story, humour and environments but limited gameplay, just as there is scope for games with amazing gameplay and a threadbare, clichéd plot.

Not saying it deserves a 10, just that it's hard to interpret ratings when different people place wildly different levels of "value" on the various aspects of an experience.

ImageImage
User avatar
Photek
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Dublin

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - 20hr story campaign, out on Friday. Reviews out now (p3)
by Photek » Fri Aug 10, 2018 7:49 pm

It’s good, not great. Played first hour or so, voice acting and facial animations are top notch but animations in general are off, there’s a clunkiness to the gameplay that’s annoying, the combat is dreadful tbh, barely any tactics other than block, hit or shove. Maybe better weapons will shake it up. It’s enjoyable though, but it’s the narrative making me want to go further rather than the gameplay.

Image
Grcades resident banana split.
User avatar
The Watching Artist
Scrub
Joined in 2008

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - 20hr story campaign, out on Friday. Reviews out now (p3)
by The Watching Artist » Tue Aug 14, 2018 5:52 pm



"The value of sadness is $60"

strawberry floating ouch :lol:

Image
User avatar
Tafdolphin
Member
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - 20hr story campaign, out on Friday. Reviews out now (p3)
by Tafdolphin » Tue Aug 14, 2018 6:24 pm

Oh wow. That's probably the most damning review I've ever seen him give. Jeez.

Gemini73 wrote:Yes your are a sanctimonious twat

Bloggy blog blog blog.

Night Call: a game what I worked on
User avatar
Knoyleo
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - 20hr story campaign, out on Friday. Reviews out now (p3)
by Knoyleo » Tue Aug 14, 2018 7:58 pm

He even recorded dialogue for the game as well. :lol:


User avatar
Tafdolphin
Member
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - 20hr story campaign, out on Friday. Reviews out now (p3)
by Tafdolphin » Tue Aug 14, 2018 8:39 pm

Knoyleo wrote:He even recorded dialogue for the game as well. :lol:



That must have been a fun conversation... :oops:

Gemini73 wrote:Yes your are a sanctimonious twat

Bloggy blog blog blog.

Night Call: a game what I worked on

Return to “Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rudderless and 38 guests