We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - 20hr story campaign, out on Friday. Reviews out now (p3)

Anything to do with games at all.
User avatar
_/\_YUNGSTAR_/\_
Member
Joined in 2012

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC) - out now on Xbox Game Preview/Steam Early Access
by _/\_YUNGSTAR_/\_ » Thu Dec 15, 2016 12:15 pm

Like many, I was in after the E3 showing. Sadly the game turned into not something I liked once outside.

Image
User avatar
Monkey Man
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC) - out now on Xbox Game Preview/Steam Early Access
by Monkey Man » Thu Aug 17, 2017 3:02 pm



We Happy Few will be a full priced retail game launching in April

PS4 version confirmed, Gearbox to publish.


Psychedelic sci-fi survival satire We Happy Few has expanded its scope from quirky indie to full-priced retail game, with Gearbox to publish a physical release 13th April, when the game launches on PS4, Xbox One and PC.

It sounds like it's going to be a much bigger game than the Early Access build we saw over a year ago. The launch game will contain a full-length story campaign consisting of three playable characters and "more than 250 unique encounters", whatever that means.

"Our team was humbled by the initial public reception to We Happy Few, and delighted to have this chance to make it bigger," said developer Compulsion Games' studio head Guillaume Provost. "Gearbox believed in us from the very beginning, and we think this partnership will make it possible to create the game that our community expects."

The game's standard edition will go for $59.99 (about £47), but those who purchased it on Steam Early Access or the Xbox One Game Preview Programme will receive the full game at no additional cost. Those who pre-order from the Microsoft Store, Steam, GOG, or the Humble Store will receive alpha access upon pre-ordering the product.




In other We Happy Few news, the alpha build that's already out is receiving a major update today dubbed Life in Technicolour. This patch improves the UI, enemy AI, and more. It will be the final update We Happy Few receives before the big reveal of its April launch.

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/2017- ... g-in-april

Image
User avatar
Knoyleo
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - out now on Xbox Game Preview/Steam Early Access, out April 2018 ON PS4
by Knoyleo » Thu Aug 17, 2017 4:18 pm

Haven't touched this in months, but I really like the sound of the changes to the stealth mechanics and getting rid of the random aggression triggers. Should make it much more bearable to play.

User avatar
Photek
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Dublin

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - out now on Xbox Game Preview/Steam Early Access, out April 2018 ON PS4
by Photek » Fri Aug 18, 2017 10:28 pm

This has vastly improved from its first iteration, it has 3 'difficulties' and really plays well.

Image
Grcades resident banana split.
User avatar
jawafour
Member
Member
Joined in 2012

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - out now on Xbox Game Preview/Steam Early Access, out April 2018 ON PS4
by jawafour » Mon Aug 21, 2017 7:03 pm

So... it's now a "sixty dollar" game with a season pass and a "collectors edition". With the PS Store offering a game plus season pass "digital deluxe" version for seventy quid.

Needless to say, Jm Sterling isn't pleased.


User avatar
Photek
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Dublin

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - out now on Xbox Game Preview/Steam Early Access, out April 2018 ON PS4
by Photek » Mon Aug 21, 2017 7:14 pm

Xbox Preview version is being upgraded for free. Think it was €20!

Image
Grcades resident banana split.
User avatar
Buffalo
Emeritus
Joined in 2008

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - out now on Xbox Game Preview/Steam Early Access, out April 2018 ON PS4
by Buffalo » Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:46 pm

Procedurally generated, to me in this case, will surely mean a lack of focus, of direction. I can see it being a flop.
It's different if, say, Broforce, was built that way. But this sort of game - or any sort of media that wants to take itself seriously - will surely struggle.

Image
User avatar
Monkey Man
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - out now on Xbox Game Preview/Steam Early Access, out April 2018 ON PS4
by Monkey Man » Sat Jan 20, 2018 10:59 am

Jolly dystopian survival game We Happy Few delays full launch, Early Access to be suspended

Following feedback on 'confusing' price hike.

Developer Compulsion Games has confirmed that its jovial 1960s-inspired dystopian survival game We Happy Few will no longer release on April 13th as was previously announced, and is now delayed until "this summer". Its Early Access programme will also be suspended.

We Happy Few was revealed in 2015, and entered Steam Early Access in 2016 following a successful Kickstarter campaign. It's enjoyed regular updates since then, and is now, says Compulsion, "content complete". However, after "a thorough review of the game, beginning to end", the developer has decided to delay final release on PC, PS4, and Xbox One, in order to improve its structure and flow - as discussed in the video update below.

Alongside the delay, Compulsion has also announced that it's taking steps to address complaints around We Happy Few's controversial price hike last year - when the game rose from £23 to almost £40 following the decision to partner with Gearbox as publisher.

More at the link - http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/2018- ... -suspended


Image
User avatar
Photek
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Dublin

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - delayed until this summer, Early Access programme will also be suspended
by Photek » Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:54 pm

It’s a bit of a shambles at the mo, not really any fun.

Image
Grcades resident banana split.
User avatar
Monkey Man
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - delayed until this summer, Early Access programme will also be suspended
by Monkey Man » Mon Jun 11, 2018 12:48 am



After debuting as an Xbox Game Preview title at the 2016 Xbox E3 Briefing, “We Happy Few” 1.0, which includes an all-new narrative and community-driven improvements, will launch on Xbox One and Xbox One X (with 4K and HDR support) on August 10, 2018. “We Happy Few” is a narrative-driven action adventure game set in a drug-fuelled, retrofuturistic 1960s England. Uncover the mystery of Wellington Wells as you play through the interwoven narratives of three moderately terrible citizens trying to escape from a lifetime of cheerful denial.


Previews -

We Happy Few’s story and setting already have me hooked. What appeared to be a stylish-looking game mismatched with survival mechanics has been molded into something much more interesting. The game’s full narrative is planned for release this summer as part of We Happy Few’s 1.0 update, which will be free to early access players. New players can get the game on PlayStation 4, Windows PC and Xbox One for $59.99

https://www.polygon.com/2018/5/29/17404 ... 4-xbox-one

So yes, I killed poor Danny, and I learned in the next tussle – yes, two more anonymous antagonists were sent in after Danny dropped – that I could’ve used Danny’s corpse as a weapon by picking it up and throwing it, but I didn’t see the prompt for the option in time before I felled both enemies. It’s moments like this – along with flashback story moments called “Lies” – that leave me feeling optimistic that We Happy Few can successfully make “The Leap.” We’ll find out soon enough.

http://www.ign.com/articles/2018/05/29/ ... e-the-leap

As it stands, We Happy Few borrows simple, mundane crafting systems from full-on survival games to express your fragility and desperation in an oppressive world. At least most of the survival elements will be customizable, or totally eliminated by playing on easy. But with so many survival games leaving Early Access that frame hunger, thirst, sleep, and so on around the same chore-like checklisting, I'd rather see We Happy Few try something completely new that didn't distract from such an intriguing world.

https://www.pcgamer.com/we-happy-fews-s ... 6301776253

We Happy Few's latest demo is the most polished version of the game to date. The game has its own style of gameplay and storytelling that engages players with moment to moment gameplay. The game's lore is firmly embedded in each of these moments and players will certainly feel as if they are moving towards a goal or conclusion as they progress through the adventure. We Happy Few features an elegant crafting system that doesn't make players feel like they are balancing an excel spreadsheet while still offering a deep array of options. Players can heal themselves with a nice nap and even search toilets for crafting items. The little details in this game are what make it so charming, like being able to hide in the trunk of an abandoned car when a bunch of angry townspeople are chasing you.

http://www.shacknews.com/article/105134 ... um=twitter

Image
User avatar
Monkey Man
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - out 10th August. New Trailer (p2)
by Monkey Man » Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:41 pm



Looks very promising.

Image
User avatar
more heat than light
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Leicestershire

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - out 10th August. New Trailer (p2)
by more heat than light » Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:02 pm

I reckon this is gonna be on Game Pass on release date.

jawafour wrote:You definitely have the biggest one, mhtl - it's strawberry-floatin' massive!
jezhumphrey75
Member
Joined in 2018

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - out 10th August. New Trailer (p2)
by jezhumphrey75 » Sat Jul 14, 2018 2:10 pm

Looks good, a bit bioshock ish.

User avatar
Knoyleo
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - out 10th August. New Trailer (p2)
by Knoyleo » Sat Jul 14, 2018 6:45 pm

jezhumphrey75 wrote:Looks good, a bit bioshock ish.

It looks it, but it isn't.

User avatar
Monkey Man
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - out 10th August. New Trailer (p2)
by Monkey Man » Sat Jul 14, 2018 8:14 pm

Knoyleo wrote:
jezhumphrey75 wrote:Looks good, a bit bioshock ish.

It looks it, but it isn't.

You know it's changed to a 20hr story campaign which has been compared to Dishonored & Bioshock by Polygon? I think the original survival roguelike mode is still available though.

Image
User avatar
Photek
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Dublin

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - 20hr story campaign, out 10th August. New Trailer (p2)
by Photek » Sat Jul 14, 2018 11:22 pm

I have this in preview... that means I own this right?

Image
Grcades resident banana split.
User avatar
Monkey Man
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - 20hr story campaign, out 10th August. New Trailer (p2)
by Monkey Man » Sat Jul 14, 2018 11:25 pm

Photek wrote:I have this in preview... that means I own this right?

Yes.

Image
User avatar
Photek
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Dublin

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - 20hr story campaign, out 10th August. New Trailer (p2)
by Photek » Mon Jul 16, 2018 3:49 pm

Wow this is launching at full price, I got it in preview for €20 :o

Image
Grcades resident banana split.
User avatar
Monkey Man
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - 20hr story campaign, out 10th August. New Trailer (p2)
by Monkey Man » Tue Aug 07, 2018 9:16 am

Image

Hi everyone,

We’re thrilled to share the first details about We Happy Few‘s post-launch content! These will not be available at launch but we wanted to give you a little taste of what's coming after.

Sandbox Mode

This free update will add an infinite mode
, set in a world that you can customize as you wish (larger, smaller, more dangerous, less food, more Wellies, etc). You will be able to customize some of the rules of the game, including choosing to play as a Wellie (Wellie Mode!). This mode will bring back the systemic, sandbox world showcased in the early days of We Happy Few.

Also in the works is the We Happy Few Season Pass! Included in the We Happy Few Deluxe Edition, the Season Pass includes three different stories set in Wellington Wells:

Roger & James in: They Came From Below!

Precocious Roger and Impetuous James set off in search of adventure and love, only to uncover bizarre technology and a terrifying new threat. All is not as it seems. Or is it exactly as it seems?

Lightbearer

Heartthrob, artist, and personal trainwreck, Nick Lightbearer is Wellington Wells’ most celebrated rock star—but what truly makes him tick? Tune in to Uncle Jack’s late show to find out.

We All Fall Down

Much like any well-worn happy mask, all societies develop cracks in their veneer. But that doesn’t mean you should go digging up dirt from the past. Right? *pops a Joy pill* Right!

The Season Pass is currently only available as part of We Happy Few Deluxe Edition, but will be available for purchase separately upon launch.

Compulsion Games

http://compulsiongames.com/en/news/183/ ... st-details

Image
User avatar
jawafour
Member
Member
Joined in 2012

PostRe: We Happy Few (XB1/PC/PS4) - 20hr story campaign, out 10th August. New Trailer (p2)
by jawafour » Tue Aug 07, 2018 9:39 am

...Sandbox Mode

This free update will add an infinite mode, set in a world that you can customize as you wish (larger, smaller, more dangerous, less food, more Wellies, etc). You will be able to customize some of the rules of the game, including choosing to play as a Wellie (Wellie Mode!). This mode will bring back the systemic, sandbox world showcased in the early days of We Happy Few....

I quite liked the initial showing of the game... and then everything seemed to get sucked up into a world of Deluxe Editions, £60 price tags and season passes. It seems incredible that the original premise of the game is now being touted as "a free update".

Maybe a little harsh but, at this point, it doesn't feel too far off the mark.


Return to “Games”