Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger

Anything to do with games at all.
User avatar
Mafro
Moderator
Joined in 2008
AKA: DAT MAF
Contact:

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Mafro » Sun Feb 10, 2019 7:12 pm

NickSCFC wrote:Can we have a change to the thread title please? This game celebrates the return of true Resident Evil , something that Resi 4 tried to destroy.

Nope.
rinks wrote:
Mafro wrote:I was watching a live speedrun on youTube earlier and the guy got to the sewers in about 20 minutes :dread:

Took me two weeks.

I’m still there :lol:

HSH28 wrote:Assmung you ever get one that is.

Blog | Twitter
User avatar
rinks
Member
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Aboard the train that goes around the world

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by rinks » Sun Feb 10, 2019 8:11 pm

Same. Literally only just encountered Mr Snappy.

User avatar
Hexx
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Hexx » Mon Feb 11, 2019 10:08 am

Just entered the Sewers as Leon



Not loving it as much I as hope to be honest. (The lack of RESIDENT EVIL!!!!!! on the title screen should have been a hint...and when I realised there was autosave).



The puzzles have been a bit overly simple (there's usually only 1-2 things to do with 1 item you have, then you get another item to do the 1-2 things) so there's never really been anything thinking. Having everything highlighted on the map adds to this ease. It doesn't feel like a scavenger hunt, so much as a follow the trail.



Mr X wasn't terrifying. He was annoying. You can easily kite him around station  (and there's enough circuitous routes it's easy). It just becomes a game of how long you kite it before rushing back to the 1 thing you've got to do. He doesn't feel like he adds pressure or threat. Just time. If you haven't been killing zombies/boarding up windows I suppose it might be hard to gamble. (I heard gunshots attract him. I never had to try...the noise in the clock tower doesn't though). A lack of tension (he walks slowly and you know your surroundings), and 1 way to get away (just run long enough) makes it feel poor in comaprison to Alan from Isolation or Jack from RE7.


So far the environmental storytelling/notes have been much lower standard than previously - the might change when we're in the lab that's been mentioned.



It's still good - but it's hard to see as pinnacle of RE

User avatar
NickSCFC
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by NickSCFC » Mon Feb 11, 2019 10:12 am

Hexx wrote:Not loving it as much I as hope to be honest. (The lack of RESIDENT EVIL!!!!!! on the title screen should have been a hint... and when I realised there was autosave).


Download the Original Soundtrack DLC

As for the rest, loving it so far, the atmosphere is incredible. The mechanics are a great compromise between classic Resi and the bastardised action games that started with 4.

I think this is the new template for the series and should act as a base to build off, my only complaint is a lack of first person/VR mode.

Image
Image
User avatar
Skarjo
Emeritus
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Skarjo » Mon Feb 11, 2019 10:59 am

Honestly this is something like my sixth or seventh main series Resident Evil series and I still don't know what the strawberry float you're meant to do with blue herbs.

Resist toxins? What toxins??

Blue Eyes wrote:No wonder I'm eating my balls instead of sweets.

Skarjo's Scary Stories...
User avatar
Hexx
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Hexx » Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:07 am

Oh at somepoint I'm sure something horrible will bite you and you'll know.

User avatar
Tafdolphin
Member
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Tafdolphin » Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:08 am

Apparently there's a red/blue combination that does something this time round.

Gemini73 wrote:Yes your are a sanctimonious twat

Bloggy blog blog blog.

Night Call: a game what I worked on
User avatar
IAmTheSaladMan
Member
Joined in 2011
Location: Sunderland

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by IAmTheSaladMan » Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:08 am

Well in the original game they cured poison status.

Image
User avatar
Mafro
Moderator
Joined in 2008
AKA: DAT MAF
Contact:

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Mafro » Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:12 am

Tafdolphin wrote:Apparently there's a red/blue combination that does something this time round.

I think it temporarily boosts your defence or something.

HSH28 wrote:Assmung you ever get one that is.

Blog | Twitter
User avatar
Skarjo
Emeritus
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Skarjo » Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:39 am

I take it all back. I took two B+R combos into the final Birkin fight and it made all the difference. I'd somehow found myself without any healing items save for the First Aid spray in the pit. That damage reduction made all the difference.

So satisfying walking up and getting my knife back afterwards. :datass:

Blue Eyes wrote:No wonder I'm eating my balls instead of sweets.

Skarjo's Scary Stories...
User avatar
Skarjo
Emeritus
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Skarjo » Mon Feb 11, 2019 12:04 pm

Image

Blue Eyes wrote:No wonder I'm eating my balls instead of sweets.

Skarjo's Scary Stories...
User avatar
Skarjo
Emeritus
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Skarjo » Mon Feb 11, 2019 12:14 pm

I probably should have seen that coming given that I read the novel.

Blue Eyes wrote:No wonder I'm eating my balls instead of sweets.

Skarjo's Scary Stories...
User avatar
mic
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: I'm on my way...

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by mic » Mon Feb 11, 2019 12:26 pm

Hexx wrote:...Not loving it as much I as hope to be honest. (The lack of RESIDENT EVIL!!!!!! on the title screen should have been a hint...and when I realised there was autosave).

It's still good - but it's hard to see as pinnacle of RE


I think it’s much more ‘resi’ in hard mode, where two consecutive hits from anything can kill, and no auto save (although ink ribbons are plentiful if you don’t care about your grade).

Having nearly finished Claire A, I think it is the best game in the series. The aiming mechanic is a huge improvement over 7 - you can move while aiming, but if you do it decreases your accuracy. It’s just more fun.

The zombies are just phenomenal, I can’t get over it.

It’s not as long as modern games, but it’s longer than the original, which I could complete in just over an hour and I think they wanted to replicate that (without that awful cheat).

I do think they fudged the A/B scenario mechanic when really they should have improved upon it, instead of shoehorning-in fewer encounters which are utterly pointless.

Still gets 10/10.

User avatar
Skarjo
Emeritus
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Skarjo » Mon Feb 11, 2019 12:36 pm

Ok so just finished Leon A. (Also, anxious to jump right in with one of Claire's runs - A or B?)

I loved it, won't lie. I didn't find Mr X that scary, and I thought the story was a little threadbare ( I don't know why but I seem to remember there being much more flavour text in the earlier games), but it was just such a perfect little slice of nostalgia.

Blue Eyes wrote:No wonder I'm eating my balls instead of sweets.

Skarjo's Scary Stories...
User avatar
Wedgie
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Wedgie » Mon Feb 11, 2019 1:34 pm

Skarjo wrote:Ok so just finished Leon A. (Also, anxious to jump right in with one of Claire's runs - A or B?)

I loved it, won't lie. I didn't find Mr X that scary, and I thought the story was a little threadbare ( I don't know why but I seem to remember there being much more flavour text in the earlier games), but it was just such a perfect little slice of nostalgia.


Claire B.

Also if you get grabbed by the G-Adults in the sewers and you don't have any defence weapons on you, you'll get poisoned.

Image

Denster wrote:My phone messaged me yesterday after i'd encouraged him to download and play the RESi demo.


Super Intelligent Phones Are Here!!!! We are dooooomed!
User avatar
KjGarly
Member
Joined in 2008
AKA: TheArbiter
Location: Liverpool

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by KjGarly » Mon Feb 11, 2019 5:43 pm

Hexx wrote: Alan from Isolation.



Alan the Alien eh :slol:

Image
Image Image
User avatar
Mafro
Moderator
Joined in 2008
AKA: DAT MAF
Contact:

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Mafro » Mon Feb 11, 2019 5:48 pm

Hexx :lol: :fp:

HSH28 wrote:Assmung you ever get one that is.

Blog | Twitter
User avatar
Tafdolphin
Member
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Tafdolphin » Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:10 pm

Wedgie wrote:
Skarjo wrote:Ok so just finished Leon A. (Also, anxious to jump right in with one of Claire's runs - A or B?)

I loved it, won't lie. I didn't find Mr X that scary, and I thought the story was a little threadbare ( I don't know why but I seem to remember there being much more flavour text in the earlier games), but it was just such a perfect little slice of nostalgia.


Claire B.

Also if you get grabbed by the G-Adults in the sewers and you don't have any defence weapons on you, you'll get poisoned.


Just so we're clear, Claire B here is the 2nd Run Claire story right?

Gemini73 wrote:Yes your are a sanctimonious twat

Bloggy blog blog blog.

Night Call: a game what I worked on
User avatar
Hexx
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Hexx » Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:31 pm

That’s his name!

JediDragon05
Member
Joined in 2010
Location: The Grcade asylum

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by JediDragon05 » Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:35 pm

Restarted my hardcore run, wasn’t happy with my progress.
Been practicing & praticing, have lost no health & have knocked 12 minutes off my original time for my first save.

Come fight death with me

Return to “Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: HailToTheKingBaby!, KjGarly, Saint of Killers, Skarjo and 35 guests