Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger

Anything to do with games at all.
User avatar
rinks
Member
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Aboard the train that goes around the world

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by rinks » Tue Sep 10, 2019 2:45 pm


User avatar
Clarkman
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Clarkman » Tue Sep 10, 2019 6:54 pm

rinks wrote:


Cool trailer, but who was asking for this? Feels like the market is at burnout

User avatar
mic
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: I'm on my way...

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by mic » Tue Sep 10, 2019 7:58 pm

If this is outbreak I couldn’t be happier! Agents was a disaster, so hopefully they’ll steer clear of 1st person actions shooters and make this more like classic Resi. Can’t wait to see gameplay.

Edit - when’s Tokyo game show?

BOR
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by BOR » Tue Sep 10, 2019 10:45 pm

mic wrote:If this is outbreak I couldn’t be happier! Agents was a disaster, so hopefully they’ll steer clear of 1st person actions shooters and make this more like classic Resi. Can’t wait to see gameplay.

Edit - when’s Tokyo game show?

TGS will start on the 12th of September.

"The job is done, and the bitch is dead."
User avatar
KK
Moderator
Joined in 2008
Location: Botswana
Contact:

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by KK » Mon Nov 25, 2019 11:27 am

For those that want something for the wall:

Image

Zavvi are proud to reveal this officially licensed poster based on Capcom’s second instalment in their iconic survival horror video game franchise – Resident Evil. Being released as a limited timed sale and available for only 72 hours this print will not be made again once the sale has ended.

Features:
  • Zavvi Exclusive
  • Limited Edition – Timed Sale
  • Art by Ben Harman
  • 16x24 Inch Fine Art Giclee produced on 300gsm textured paper
  • Individually hand numbered
  • Accompanied by a Certificate of Authenticity.
  • Contains authorised signature of the artist.
  • Produced by Fanattik

https://www.zavvi.com/merch-posters/res ... 69204.html

I think it looks great, but I don't know what the quality is like in reality on these things.

Image
User avatar
Corazon de Leon
Doctor ♥
Joined in 2008
AKA: Deadpool / sntaa

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Corazon de Leon » Mon Nov 25, 2019 4:25 pm

Oh that's really cool. I'd have that on the wall of my spare room, framed.

Image
User avatar
KK
Moderator
Joined in 2008
Location: Botswana
Contact:

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by KK » Mon Nov 25, 2019 5:41 pm

It would be really epic if it was made of glass, or aspects of it, and the red blood splatter popped and shone with the light in contrast to the black and white. I have something similar in my house in regards to a Disney 'painting'; I have no idea what it's called, but it creates a very visually striking effect nonetheless.

Image
User avatar
Captain Kinopio
Member
Joined in 2008
AKA: Herbi
Location: The Observatory

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Captain Kinopio » Mon Nov 25, 2019 11:45 pm

What area is that supposed to be?

It looks like a hospital

User avatar
Green Gecko
Treasurer
Joined in 2008
Location: Sussex
Contact:

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Green Gecko » Tue Nov 26, 2019 2:16 am

A giclee that size costs about £4 to print, so, wondering what the retail cost is for signed/edition work. Might be ridiculous.

Ah, £30, that's not too bad. Depends how many they are releasing. Bit of a scarcity gimmick these things. I think they can do more compelling artwork like, digital sketch/paintings. This looks more like a movie poster, there's not all that much detail to appreciate in imagery like that.

Example: the reproduction of the Metroid II airbrush from the 90s in Metroid: Samus Returns legacy edition was really good. I scanned it before selling it. :shifty:

With digital art/photoshop style stuff, I don't really see the point.

♥ gaems | t: @GRcade | FB: GRcadeUK | YT: GRcadeVideo | Twitch: GRcadeUK
Image
User avatar
ITSMILNER
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: UK

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by ITSMILNER » Tue Dec 31, 2019 9:33 pm

Noticed on the PSstore this evening that they have an ‘Unlock all’ purchase that, as t(e name implies, unlocks all the extras in RE 2. This includes the unlimited ammo weapons which is something I was wanting before I go back to this to complete it.

It was only £2.49 so I’ve grabbed it, no more having to worry about running out of ammo :shifty:

Long Live Switch Squad!
User avatar
Captain Kinopio
Member
Joined in 2008
AKA: Herbi
Location: The Observatory

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Captain Kinopio » Tue Dec 31, 2019 9:44 pm

I unlocked all that in game. Though I would like the DLC outfits.

The unlimited ammo is surprisingly unsatisfying, basically game breaking. When it's just a shooting gallery all the game design just falls away and there's not a huge amount of fun left.

User avatar
ITSMILNER
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: UK

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by ITSMILNER » Tue Dec 31, 2019 9:49 pm

Captain Kinopio wrote:I unlocked all that in game. Though I would like the DLC outfits.

The unlimited ammo is surprisingly unsatisfying, basically game breaking. When it's just a shooting gallery all the game design just falls away and there's not a huge amount of fun left.


I like the story in the game, I got to a point when I played before where I had saved when I had next to nothing left to defend myself and it ruined the experience for me.

Long Live Switch Squad!
User avatar
Captain Kinopio
Member
Joined in 2008
AKA: Herbi
Location: The Observatory

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Captain Kinopio » Tue Dec 31, 2019 10:57 pm

ITSMILNER wrote:
Captain Kinopio wrote:I unlocked all that in game. Though I would like the DLC outfits.

The unlimited ammo is surprisingly unsatisfying, basically game breaking. When it's just a shooting gallery all the game design just falls away and there's not a huge amount of fun left.


I like the story in the game, I got to a point when I played before where I had saved when I had next to nothing left to defend myself and it ruined the experience for me.

For all the times I’ve played and completed it (must be getting on for 20), I’ve never got into a spot where ammo has run out. Perhaps close a couple of times around the first boss on hardcore. That said I know it so well now and can do it so quick (comparatively) that it’s no trouble at all for me to start again. I can see how unlimited ammo would be a nice back up if you don’t want to worry about running out though.

I’m looking forward to giving this another playthrough this weekend as it’s been a while and seeing some of the minor updates, like adding spiderwebs, that they’ve put in since I last played it. That said, does anyone have a complete list of everything they’ve added in the last few months, I seem to remember reading there’s a note from Jill in there now too, but I don’t know if anything else I’ve missed.

User avatar
ITSMILNER
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: UK

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by ITSMILNER » Sun Jan 05, 2020 9:02 am

Finally went back and restarted this last night (with 2 infinite ammo weapons on Normal) and I am enjoying it a lot more as I’m playing without the thought of having to conserve ammo which really put me off the last time I played it.

Question though, I have started as Leon, once I have beaten his story this unlocks Claire B correct? Is the B scenario shorter to play through than A?

Long Live Switch Squad!
User avatar
Captain Kinopio
Member
Joined in 2008
AKA: Herbi
Location: The Observatory

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Captain Kinopio » Sun Jan 05, 2020 9:56 am

No, some stuff is in a different order but they’re basically identical.

I bought the costume and music DLC. Costumes are a bit blah and Noir mode is basically unplayable but the music is brilliant.

User avatar
ITSMILNER
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: UK

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by ITSMILNER » Sun Jan 05, 2020 10:32 am

Captain Kinopio wrote:No, some stuff is in a different order but they’re basically identical.

I bought the costume and music DLC. Costumes are a bit blah and Noir mode is basically unplayable but the music is brilliant.


Oh, is it worth playing the B run then? It had some different story beats right?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Long Live Switch Squad!
User avatar
Corazon de Leon
Doctor ♥
Joined in 2008
AKA: Deadpool / sntaa

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Corazon de Leon » Sun Jan 05, 2020 10:34 am

I enjoyed the B runs, and you need to do at least one of them to get the true ending so I'd definitely recommend it. They're roughly the same length as an A run with a couple of different arrangements and story beats, as you say.

Image
User avatar
ITSMILNER
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: UK

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by ITSMILNER » Sun Jan 05, 2020 11:20 am

Cool, I’ll playthrough both then, I am enjoying it a lot so far, the atmosphere is tense even with the thought of having unlimited ammo.

Long Live Switch Squad!
User avatar
Tomous
I Pissed My Pants
Joined in 2010
AKA: Vampbuster

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Tomous » Sun Jan 05, 2020 12:54 pm

How long are the playthroughs for each scenario on average?

Image
User avatar
Captain Kinopio
Member
Joined in 2008
AKA: Herbi
Location: The Observatory

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Captain Kinopio » Sun Jan 05, 2020 2:15 pm

Merry Christmous Everyone wrote:How long are the playthroughs for each scenario on average?


10 - 15 hours on a first play through.


Return to “Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: HeatherGaili, Parksey, Saint of Killers and 54 guests