Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger

Anything to do with games at all.
User avatar
Preezy
Skeletor
Joined in 2009
AKA: Preezy

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Preezy » Sun Jan 05, 2020 2:37 pm

Just played 10 minutes of the demo (up to the point you meet the cop who's clearly been bitten) - utterly terrifying, strawberry float that :slol:

I can only imagine how bad it must be playing with headphones on with the lights off :dread:

User avatar
Dig Dug
Member
Joined in 2011

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Dig Dug » Sun Jan 05, 2020 3:39 pm

The first playthrough is terrifying. The terror has worn off for me by now but the design is so good that I can still enjoy the game immensely on new playthroughs by bettering my resource management (never bother shooting the zombies with anything other than the shotgun, it saves so much ammo) and learning better dodge tactics. It's fun in all the ways the original is.

User avatar
Captain Kinopio
Member
Joined in 2008
AKA: Herbi
Location: The Observatory

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Captain Kinopio » Sun Jan 05, 2020 4:05 pm

Dig Dug wrote:The first playthrough is terrifying. The terror has worn off for me by now but the design is so good that I can still enjoy the game immensely on new playthroughs by bettering my resource management (never bother shooting the zombies with anything other than the shotgun, it saves so much ammo) and learning better dodge tactics. It's fun in all the ways the original is.


Me too, just done a Claire B run through and hoarding all the gear the game chucks your way is very satisfying. Would love a harder difficulty because even Hardcore is pretty tame.

User avatar
ITSMILNER
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: UK

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by ITSMILNER » Sun Jan 05, 2020 7:46 pm

Just reached the sewers section, jeez Mr X was relentless, makes you wonder how Nemesis will act :dread:

Really enjoying this though, I’ll play Claire’s run after this and then I’ll give those DLC Ghost Survivor missions a go.

Long Live Switch Squad!
User avatar
Captain Kinopio
Member
Joined in 2008
AKA: Herbi
Location: The Observatory

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Captain Kinopio » Sun Jan 05, 2020 8:58 pm

I’m wondering how I’ll get on with Nemesis. In the early days of this I found Mr X a real pain in he arse as posts in this thread show. I’ve played it so much now that he’s a non-factor so I don’t really know how I feel about his mechanics. I think it’s fine as it mixes things up a bit and forces you to play differently. Not sure how that will transfer to a whole game though.

User avatar
ITSMILNER
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: UK

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by ITSMILNER » Sun Jan 05, 2020 9:27 pm

Captain Kinopio wrote:I’m wondering how I’ll get on with Nemesis. In the early days of this I found Mr X a real pain in he arse as posts in this thread show. I’ve played it so much now that he’s a non-factor so I don’t really know how I feel about his mechanics. I think it’s fine as it mixes things up a bit and forces you to play differently. Not sure how that will transfer to a whole game though.


I do wonder how they will handle him, will he constantly be hunting you down the whole game? Maybe just certain sections he will appear?

Long Live Switch Squad!
User avatar
Zilnad
Member
Joined in 2019

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Zilnad » Mon Jan 06, 2020 9:44 am

Started my 6th run of this yesterday afternoon, this time on the PS4, playing as Claire. I almost finished it in one sitting but I had to stop when I got to the lab as it was time to make dinner. Everything about this game perfectly recreates and enhances the original, it's amazing. Even the feel of having played it enough to zip through it in a couple of hours, when the first play took 15-20, is just like the original. The only complaint is that the new music kind of fades into the background and doesn't stand out by itself. The original music DLC does fix this but I have a weird thing where I feel uncomfortable and like something is wrong if I play without the default options.

Somehow the zombies still occasionally sneak up on me and make me jump though. Absolutely my GOTY 2019 and I can't wait for April.

User avatar
ITSMILNER
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: UK

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by ITSMILNER » Mon Jan 06, 2020 1:03 pm

If I have just reached the sewers, how much longer do I have to go hour wise roughly?

Long Live Switch Squad!
User avatar
Captain Kinopio
Member
Joined in 2008
AKA: Herbi
Location: The Observatory

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Captain Kinopio » Mon Jan 06, 2020 1:53 pm

About half way

User avatar
Corazon de Leon
Doctor ♥
Joined in 2008
AKA: Deadpool / sntaa

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Corazon de Leon » Mon Jan 06, 2020 5:38 pm

Depends how quickly you’re playing really, you can get through the sewers in about twenty minutes and the lab in about fifteen or twenty if you’re really quick and not going for all the documents and extras, or you could take ninety minutes in both of them.

Image
User avatar
ITSMILNER
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: UK

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by ITSMILNER » Mon Jan 06, 2020 6:19 pm

Cool, I’m not rushing as I’m taking in all the lore.

Found Jill’s letter as well :datass:


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Long Live Switch Squad!
User avatar
Corazon de Leon
Doctor ♥
Joined in 2008
AKA: Deadpool / sntaa

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Corazon de Leon » Tue Jan 07, 2020 5:03 pm

OK, well I strongly recommend checking behind the lockers in one of the locker rooms in the sewers, and make sure you have the STARS badge to hand when you do...

Image
User avatar
ITSMILNER
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: UK

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by ITSMILNER » Wed Jan 08, 2020 7:28 am

Leon A done, started up Claire B, it’s cool the way they tie it and line it up with the Leon A run (some exceptions of course)

Looking forward to seeing the true ending after the post credit scene at the end of Leon A.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Long Live Switch Squad!
User avatar
Captain Kinopio
Member
Joined in 2008
AKA: Herbi
Location: The Observatory

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Captain Kinopio » Sun Jan 12, 2020 7:48 pm

Completed my fastest ever run through in 1h 56m in one sitting.

That included 2 continues and a chunk of time wasting because I don’t have stuff memorised like pointless routing.

Think if I really gunned it I could probably get to 1h 30m without looking up and proper speed run strats.

User avatar
gaminglegend
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: North East, UK

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by gaminglegend » Sun Jan 12, 2020 7:53 pm

I remember playing Resi 1 on PS1 as a kid :lol:

Been really tempted by this. But seen 0/1 are also on PS4. Is it worth playing those first?

Image
User avatar
Dig Dug
Member
Joined in 2011

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Dig Dug » Sun Jan 12, 2020 8:15 pm

Resident Evil 2 has always been able to stand as its own separate story and game. Playing RE1 gives some context to the back story but I wouldn't call it essential. Zero just gives a back story to questions that didn't need answering.

User avatar
gaminglegend
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: North East, UK

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by gaminglegend » Mon Jan 13, 2020 10:50 am

Dig Dug wrote:Resident Evil 2 has always been able to stand as its own separate story and game. Playing RE1 gives some context to the back story but I wouldn't call it essential. Zero just gives a back story to questions that didn't need answering.


Cool I’ll pick it up and see :)

Image
User avatar
Captain Kinopio
Member
Joined in 2008
AKA: Herbi
Location: The Observatory

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Captain Kinopio » Sun Jan 19, 2020 9:31 am

Finally S+ across the board with a 1h 40m on Claire B Hardcore

User avatar
Lex-Man
Member
Joined in 2008
Contact:

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Lex-Man » Sun Jan 19, 2020 1:23 pm

Captain Kinopio wrote:Finally S+ across the board with a 1h 40m on Claire B Hardcore


Is that the whole game. Finishing it in 1 40 seems impossible although only done one run with Leon.

Amusement under late capitalism is the prolongation of work.
User avatar
Captain Kinopio
Member
Joined in 2008
AKA: Herbi
Location: The Observatory

PostRe: Resident Evil 2 Remake | Review Scores Within Stranger
by Captain Kinopio » Sun Jan 19, 2020 1:50 pm

Whole game.

When you skip out the going back and forth with codes by having them all to hand from the start, doing it in under 4 hours is very easy. The rest is just knowing optimum routes and what to pickup. Following a walthrough on YouTube and getting close to the 2 hour mark is perfectly doable without much skill.


Return to “Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: FatDaz, Frank, Google [Bot], Kanbei, MSN [Bot], OldSoulCyborg, OrangeRKN, Photek, Somebody Else's Problem, Yubel and 49 guests