Celeste - Consoles, PC - A clever, tricksy platformer - Chapter 9 is out on 9/9!

Anything to do with games at all.
User avatar
Jenuall
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: 40 light-years outside of the buttermilk nebula

PostRe: Celeste - Consoles, PC - A clever, tricksy platformer - Chapter 9 is out on 9/9!
by Jenuall » Tue Oct 01, 2019 10:49 pm

Back at this after a bit of a pause and damn is it one hell of a fine game! Chapter 4 was a tiny bit annoying, but 5 is just amazing so far. :datass:

Image
User avatar
Jezo
Member
Joined in 2015
AKA: Jezo
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Consoles, PC - A clever, tricksy platformer - Chapter 9 is out on 9/9!
by Jezo » Wed Oct 02, 2019 9:38 am

Bought this in the sale, will probably start it this weekend. Get ready for some grade-A Jezo posts.

User avatar
Jenuall
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: 40 light-years outside of the buttermilk nebula

PostRe: Celeste - Consoles, PC - A clever, tricksy platformer - Chapter 9 is out on 9/9!
by Jenuall » Wed Oct 02, 2019 12:00 pm

Blasted through chapter 5 and into chapter 6 now, it's just so good! Beautiful little convo between Madeleine and Theo at the start of this chapter, the themes are so well handled and integrate into the gameplay in such wonderful ways. :wub:

Got the B-side for chapter 5 as well. :datass:

Image
deathofcows
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: Celeste - Consoles, PC - A clever, tricksy platformer - Chapter 9 is out on 9/9!
by deathofcows » Wed Oct 02, 2019 12:45 pm

Looking forward to finally cracking on with Farewell, with some trepidation at the undertaking.

But I've finished Link's Awakening and Sayonara Hearts now so I'm running out of procrastination-before-the-plunge excuses.

User avatar
OrangeRKN
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Consoles, PC - A clever, tricksy platformer - Chapter 9 is out on 9/9!
by OrangeRKN » Wed Oct 02, 2019 12:50 pm

Jezo wrote:Bought this in the sale, will probably start it this weekend. Get ready for some grade-A Jezo posts.


Just remember it's not a metroidvania

Jenuall wrote:Blasted through chapter 5 and into chapter 6 now, it's just so good! Beautiful little convo between Madeleine and Theo at the start of this chapter, the themes are so well handled and integrate into the gameplay in such wonderful ways. :wub:


:wub:

"Nintendo fanboys are the worst kind" - gamerforever
Image
Image
Web - RedBubble - @OrangeRakoon - GOTY 2018
User avatar
Jezo
Member
Joined in 2015
AKA: Jezo
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Consoles, PC - A clever, tricksy platformer - Chapter 9 is out on 9/9!
by Jezo » Mon Oct 07, 2019 4:35 pm

Started this on Friday and played it for a while over the weekend. It's pretty good so far, the controls are mostly fluid and actually combine together to produce different results, so it feels good to pull certain things off. The overall mechanics are pretty solid. Think I'm on like chapter 5..? I'm mostly enjoying it, even though I'm not an inherent fan of 'just keep throwing yourself at it until you do it' style. I'm not one to always look ahead and strategise, I much prefer jumping in and figuring it out as I go. But with such quick and precise decision making in some areas, it leads to many, many attempts lol. I know you can boil most games down to that style of trial and error, but it seems very pretentious in this game. I don't like the whole "haha yeah, we know we made a hard game, check out your death count!!! XD". As far as complaints go tho, these are more personal and nitpicky, so I can't even say myself they're even worth reading kek. Tbh, I'm pretty tired so this might just be cranky rambling.

As for a real complaint, all I can think of off the top of my head is that a lot of strawberries are in side rooms which require you to make it through some kind of obstacle or puzzle-platforming, and then once you've got to the strawberry, you gotta make it back to the beginning of the obstacle to make it actually count. This is good. I love this. But I've found a few strawberries don't require you to make it back. So I accidentally die on the way back after getting a strawberry and it still counts. I feel like I just cheated the game lol. It invalidates the effort of making it back safely which is sometimes a challenge in itself and feels really good.

While the smaller room challenges are fun, I think I much prefer the bigger sections where the screen scrolls. I feel like the moveset is well equipped for large areas. That part at the end of the hotel where you're getting chased was sick even if stressful. That sort of dynamic element really makes the game feel better to me as a whole. So I hope there's more of that as the game continues. The story and characters are pretty intriguing too, so enjoying that. The B-Side levels are dick hard, but super fun, and overall, all the levels are pretty intricate and make clever use of new mechanics, etc.

Still a lot I don't understand tho, but I'm sure it'll come to light by the time I finish it. Looking forward to reading through the thread to see how everyone else found it.

deathofcows
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: Celeste - Consoles, PC - A clever, tricksy platformer - Chapter 9 is out on 9/9!
by deathofcows » Mon Oct 07, 2019 6:45 pm

Jezo wrote:As for a real complaint, all I can think of off the top of my head is that a lot of strawberries are in side rooms which require you to make it through some kind of obstacle or puzzle-platforming, and then once you've got to the strawberry, you gotta make it back to the beginning of the obstacle to make it actually count. This is good. I love this. But I've found a few strawberries don't require you to make it back. So I accidentally die on the way back after getting a strawberry and it still counts. I feel like I just cheated the game lol. It invalidates the effort of making it back safely which is sometimes a challenge in itself and feels really good.


The rule isn't 'make it back to the beginning' but just 'make it to some ground you can land on safely' - does that explain it?

User avatar
OldSoulCyborg
Member
Joined in 2010

PostRe: Celeste - Consoles, PC - A clever, tricksy platformer - Chapter 9 is out on 9/9!
by OldSoulCyborg » Mon Oct 07, 2019 6:53 pm

deathofcows wrote:
Jezo wrote:As for a real complaint, all I can think of off the top of my head is that a lot of strawberries are in side rooms which require you to make it through some kind of obstacle or puzzle-platforming, and then once you've got to the strawberry, you gotta make it back to the beginning of the obstacle to make it actually count. This is good. I love this. But I've found a few strawberries don't require you to make it back. So I accidentally die on the way back after getting a strawberry and it still counts. I feel like I just cheated the game lol. It invalidates the effort of making it back safely which is sometimes a challenge in itself and feels really good.


The rule isn't 'make it back to the beginning' but just 'make it to some ground you can land on safely' - does that explain it?


Not always the case. Some strawberries require you to make it back out of the challenge safely, even if there is safe ground before then.

Flickr
Wii U: StainyGrimes
deathofcows
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: Celeste - Consoles, PC - A clever, tricksy platformer - Chapter 9 is out on 9/9!
by deathofcows » Tue Oct 08, 2019 4:31 pm

OldSoulCyborg wrote:
deathofcows wrote:
Jezo wrote:As for a real complaint, all I can think of off the top of my head is that a lot of strawberries are in side rooms which require you to make it through some kind of obstacle or puzzle-platforming, and then once you've got to the strawberry, you gotta make it back to the beginning of the obstacle to make it actually count. This is good. I love this. But I've found a few strawberries don't require you to make it back. So I accidentally die on the way back after getting a strawberry and it still counts. I feel like I just cheated the game lol. It invalidates the effort of making it back safely which is sometimes a challenge in itself and feels really good.


The rule isn't 'make it back to the beginning' but just 'make it to some ground you can land on safely' - does that explain it?


Not always the case. Some strawberries require you to make it back out of the challenge safely, even if there is safe ground before then.


OIC. Whoops!

P.S. Playing through Farewell - it's fantastic.

User avatar
OrangeRKN
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Consoles, PC - A clever, tricksy platformer - Chapter 9 is out on 9/9!
by OrangeRKN » Tue Oct 08, 2019 4:45 pm

Jezo wrote:Started this on Friday ... It's pretty good so far


:toot:

I think you'll like the C-sides if you prefer the larger screens.

"Nintendo fanboys are the worst kind" - gamerforever
Image
Image
Web - RedBubble - @OrangeRakoon - GOTY 2018
User avatar
Jezo
Member
Joined in 2015
AKA: Jezo
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Consoles, PC - A clever, tricksy platformer - Chapter 9 is out on 9/9!
by Jezo » Sat Oct 12, 2019 1:24 pm

HOLY strawberry float I CAN'T BELIEVE THERE'S A REFERENCE TO THE BEHIND THE SCENES THING FROM SUPER MARIO BROS 3

I thought it looked like something out of SMB3 and tried it on a whim and it worked this game is nuts.

User avatar
OrangeRKN
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Consoles, PC - A clever, tricksy platformer - Chapter 9 is out on 9/9!
by OrangeRKN » Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:33 pm

In a way it's super ill-fitting to have that in the game, as it basically requires that specific knowledge from an unrelated game.

But on the other hand, it's really neat

"Nintendo fanboys are the worst kind" - gamerforever
Image
Image
Web - RedBubble - @OrangeRakoon - GOTY 2018
User avatar
Balladeer
Member
Joined in 2018
Location: Lord's

PostRe: Celeste - Consoles, PC - A clever, tricksy platformer - Chapter 9 is out on 9/9!
by Balladeer » Sat Oct 12, 2019 8:47 pm

I’m opting for the ‘super ill-fitting’ side of things. Had to read a walkthrough for that. :dread:

User avatar
OldSoulCyborg
Member
Joined in 2010

PostRe: Celeste - Consoles, PC - A clever, tricksy platformer - Chapter 9 is out on 9/9!
by OldSoulCyborg » Sat Oct 12, 2019 8:52 pm

Yeah, I can see that. But on the other hand I made the connection and it made me feel real smart, so eh.

Flickr
Wii U: StainyGrimes
User avatar
Dangerblade
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Bristol

PostRe: Celeste - Consoles, PC - A clever, tricksy platformer - Chapter 9 is out on 9/9!
by Dangerblade » Sun Oct 13, 2019 2:02 am

I actually had no idea what the reference was and stumbled across how to "solve" it by sheer luck as I just randomly tried various things including crouching and dashing...

User avatar
Jezo
Member
Joined in 2015
AKA: Jezo
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Consoles, PC - A clever, tricksy platformer - Chapter 9 is out on 9/9!
by Jezo » Sun Oct 13, 2019 9:58 am

OrangeRKN wrote:In a way it's super ill-fitting to have that in the game, as it basically requires that specific knowledge from an unrelated game.

But on the other hand, it's really neat

What did I tell you about quoting me

But yeah it's such an obscure reference. Crouching doesn't exactly do anything else in the game from what I've done thus far.

deathofcows
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: Celeste - Consoles, PC - A clever, tricksy platformer - Chapter 9 is out on 9/9!
by deathofcows » Sun Oct 13, 2019 5:48 pm

Dangerblade wrote:I actually had no idea what the reference was and stumbled across how to "solve" it by sheer luck as I just randomly tried various things including crouching and dashing...


I'm the same. Was a little obtuse but still pretty satisfying (/?relief) when I found it.

Also, finished Farewell, and then finished finished Farewell thanks to the (great) stepwise hints by OldSoulCyborg (Thanks!). I wouldn't have cottoned on otherwise.

I thought it was brilliant and outstandingly generous (It took me longer than many other Indie games whole, and took me more deaths I think than any other single Celeste level).

It also has a genuine cadence to it - with its various music tracks, different environments and discreet 'sections' that riff on all the new mechanics. It feels like a Journey unto itself, and - incredibly - even re-visits and re-riffs on the established Celeste mechanics in surprising (and stumping, and satisfying) ways.

The rigor with which the team have explored the possibilities of the game, and the bottomless depths and subtleties of its gamefeel, make the whole package feel even more complete and masterly than it did before.

A treat!

User avatar
OrangeRKN
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Consoles, PC - A clever, tricksy platformer - Chapter 9 is out on 9/9!
by OrangeRKN » Mon Oct 14, 2019 10:21 am

Is it worth going back to finish finish, like is there an extra cutscene or anything, or is it more on the level of doing the first level without jumping?

"Nintendo fanboys are the worst kind" - gamerforever
Image
Image
Web - RedBubble - @OrangeRakoon - GOTY 2018
deathofcows
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: Celeste - Consoles, PC - A clever, tricksy platformer - Chapter 9 is out on 9/9!
by deathofcows » Mon Oct 14, 2019 1:37 pm

OrangeRKN wrote:Is it worth going back to finish finish, like is there an extra cutscene or anything, or is it more on the level of doing the first level without jumping?


There's no extra cutscene, but there is a whole extra challenge (akin I suppose to the last screen itself, but even more fun and satisfying I think) scored by different music and a little reward that made me :D with delight. It's not just a remix or variation on something you've already done.

Worth it, I reckon.

User avatar
Jezo
Member
Joined in 2015
AKA: Jezo
Contact:

PostRe: Celeste - Consoles, PC - A clever, tricksy platformer - Chapter 9 is out on 9/9!
by Jezo » Sun Oct 20, 2019 2:10 pm

Avoiding any spoilers above for chapter 9 for now lol. Didn't think it'd actually be called wavedashing, but it is and it's sick. Still making my way through chapter 9, just paused for lunch. Progress wise I think I'm just missing 2 strawberries. One of them is the last one of the 5th (?) Section of chapter 7 (the one with the high tech platforms and red bubbles). Just can't find it anywhere. After chapter 9 tho I'll be on them C-sides.

Oh and I found this secret room above the lift in chapter 6. Had a bunch of characters in it but seemingly nothing else. Assuming they're references to other games?


Return to “Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Damian, darksideby182, Google [Bot], kazanova_Frankenstein, kerr9000, MSN [Bot], OldSoulCyborg, Peter Crisp, Rubix, Seven, Tafdolphin, Tineash, Trelliz and 52 guests