General PC Help Thread 2

Fed up talking videogames? Why?
User avatar
Hexx
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: General PC Help Thread 2
by Hexx » Sun Oct 07, 2018 1:18 pm

All done!
And back in!
And it turned back on!

User avatar
Hexx
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: General PC Help Thread 2
by Hexx » Sun Oct 07, 2018 1:39 pm

OK. So keyboard stopped working.
But put it in another USB socket and works fine.

I'm not worried at all.

User avatar
Death's Head
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: RE: Re: General PC Help Thread 2
by Death's Head » Sun Oct 07, 2018 1:42 pm

Hexx wrote:OK. So keyboard stopped working.
But put it in another USB socket and works fine.

I'm not worried at all.
Nothing a new motherboard won't resolve. Have you tried something else in the other USB port?

Yes?
User avatar
Hexx
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: RE: Re: General PC Help Thread 2
by Hexx » Sun Oct 07, 2018 1:45 pm

Death's Head wrote:
Hexx wrote:OK. So keyboard stopped working.
But put it in another USB socket and works fine.

I'm not worried at all.
Nothing a new motherboard won't resolve. Have you tried something else in the other USB port?


Nope. It worked. it was just slow and laggy and missed keys.

It's all working (for now) so I'm going to life in stressed denial I think

User avatar
Hexx
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: General PC Help Thread 2
by Hexx » Sun Oct 07, 2018 10:12 pm

No issues playing WoW this afternoon, or using for Discord/Roll20 tonight

Hopefully sorted then. Thanks all for helping. I'm basically a small scared child when it comes to computers!

User avatar
Hexx
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: General PC Help Thread 2
by Hexx » Wed Oct 10, 2018 8:59 am

It happened again :(

User avatar
Death's Head
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: General PC Help Thread 2
by Death's Head » Sun Oct 14, 2018 10:36 pm

Do you have another GPU you can try for a while? Unfortunately you are now in process of elimination territory, unless there is any logging that can help.

Yes?
User avatar
Errkal
Member
Joined in 2011
Location: Hastings

PostRe: General PC Help Thread 2
by Errkal » Mon Oct 15, 2018 5:51 am

Does you mothboard have built in graphics like Intel HD something ago that you could try for a while?

It will suck performance wise but you should be able to get by as a test.

User avatar
Hexx
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: General PC Help Thread 2
by Hexx » Tue Oct 16, 2018 2:07 pm

Errkal wrote:Does you mothboard have built in graphics like Intel HD something ago that you could try for a while?

It will suck performance wise but you should be able to get by as a test.


I don't know! Know your audience! :slol: (:fp: @ me)

I think I'll just live with it. Barely WoW anymore and it's only been a problem then...

User avatar
Ironhide
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Autobot City

PostRe: General PC Help Thread 2
by Ironhide » Sun Jan 20, 2019 6:11 pm

The power button on my Fractal node 304 case has broken (so I'm on my old laptop atm) and has rendered my PC unusable, I have ordered a spare "power kit" directly from Fractal which should arrive sometime next week.

Is there any way I could bypass the switch and just keep it powered up for a few days (I usually shut down every night ) or should I just accept my fate of using my laptop connected to my main monitor (in a godawfully low resolution).

Image
User avatar
Dowbocop
Member ♥
Joined in 2008

PostRe: General PC Help Thread 2
by Dowbocop » Sun Jan 20, 2019 6:50 pm

Ironhide wrote:The power button on my Fractal node 304 case has broken (so I'm on my old laptop atm) and has rendered my PC unusable, I have ordered a spare "power kit" directly from Fractal which should arrive sometime next week.

Is there any way I could bypass the switch and just keep it powered up for a few days (I usually shut down every night ) or should I just accept my fate of using my laptop connected to my main monitor (in a godawfully low resolution).

If it's just a mechanical switch then I don't see why you couldn't, depending on what's broken. In my experience of switches the outer button with the case design usually just pushes a tiny 1x1mm switch behind it, so if you can access that switch then pushing it should work and you can leave it on.

If it's the electrical connection then I'd probably leave it until the spare arrives.

User avatar
Sandy
Member
Joined in 2018
AKA: Akuma / Dormin
Location: Surrey, darling

PostRe: General PC Help Thread 2
by Sandy » Sun Jan 20, 2019 8:43 pm

Just use a piece of metal to short the power header on the motherboard for a second and the PC will turn on.

User avatar
Ironhide
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Autobot City

PostRe: General PC Help Thread 2
by Ironhide » Sun Jan 20, 2019 8:58 pm

Dowbocop wrote:
Ironhide wrote:The power button on my Fractal node 304 case has broken (so I'm on my old laptop atm) and has rendered my PC unusable, I have ordered a spare "power kit" directly from Fractal which should arrive sometime next week.

Is there any way I could bypass the switch and just keep it powered up for a few days (I usually shut down every night ) or should I just accept my fate of using my laptop connected to my main monitor (in a godawfully low resolution).

If it's just a mechanical switch then I don't see why you couldn't, depending on what's broken. In my experience of switches the outer button with the case design usually just pushes a tiny 1x1mm switch behind it, so if you can access that switch then pushing it should work and you can leave it on.

If it's the electrical connection then I'd probably leave it until the spare arrives.


It'll switch on if the front panel is removed and the tiny switch is pressed but seeing as the front panel also has several other wires for USB ports and other sockets connected to it, I'd rather leave it be than risk damaging something else - the build quality isn't exactly reassuring.

While I've had the case open I've also noticed I need to clean the dust filters, they're filthy.

Image
User avatar
Dowbocop
Member ♥
Joined in 2008

PostRe: General PC Help Thread 2
by Dowbocop » Sun Jan 20, 2019 10:19 pm

Ironhide wrote:
Dowbocop wrote:
Ironhide wrote:The power button on my Fractal node 304 case has broken (so I'm on my old laptop atm) and has rendered my PC unusable, I have ordered a spare "power kit" directly from Fractal which should arrive sometime next week.

Is there any way I could bypass the switch and just keep it powered up for a few days (I usually shut down every night ) or should I just accept my fate of using my laptop connected to my main monitor (in a godawfully low resolution).

If it's just a mechanical switch then I don't see why you couldn't, depending on what's broken. In my experience of switches the outer button with the case design usually just pushes a tiny 1x1mm switch behind it, so if you can access that switch then pushing it should work and you can leave it on.

If it's the electrical connection then I'd probably leave it until the spare arrives.


It'll switch on if the front panel is removed and the tiny switch is pressed but seeing as the front panel also has several other wires for USB ports and other sockets connected to it, I'd rather leave it be than risk damaging something else - the build quality isn't exactly reassuring.

While I've had the case open I've also noticed I need to clean the dust filters, they're filthy.

Fair enough, I only meant to open it once then you could put it to sleep at night and have a mouse or keyboard wake command. It's more risky than just not using it though!

User avatar
more heat than light
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Leicestershire

PostRe: General PC Help Thread 2
by more heat than light » Wed Jan 23, 2019 9:34 am

I'm having some problems connecting my PC to my WiFi network. For some reason it can't find the network at all, despite my phone and Xbox connecting just fine. Weird thing is it's bringing up a load of other networks, so the card isn't faulty or anything, it just won't find mine. :?

jawafour wrote:You definitely have the biggest one, mhtl - it's strawberry-floatin' massive!
User avatar
darksideby182
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: cove grove

PostRe: General PC Help Thread 2
by darksideby182 » Wed Jan 23, 2019 10:39 am

more heat than light wrote:I'm having some problems connecting my PC to my WiFi network. For some reason it can't find the network at all, despite my phone and Xbox connecting just fine. Weird thing is it's bringing up a load of other networks, so the card isn't faulty or anything, it just won't find mine. :?

Is the PC card only 2.4G and the networks are 5G?

Wii U : punkeator
Xbox live : darksideby182
Psn : darksideby182
steam : Punkeator
Origin : Punkeator
Switch : 6739-1557-7191
User avatar
more heat than light
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Leicestershire

PostRe: General PC Help Thread 2
by more heat than light » Wed Jan 23, 2019 11:07 am

darksideby182 wrote:
more heat than light wrote:I'm having some problems connecting my PC to my WiFi network. For some reason it can't find the network at all, despite my phone and Xbox connecting just fine. Weird thing is it's bringing up a load of other networks, so the card isn't faulty or anything, it just won't find mine. :?

Is the PC card only 2.4G and the networks are 5G?


I don't know what this means, but it's worked fine before.

jawafour wrote:You definitely have the biggest one, mhtl - it's strawberry-floatin' massive!
User avatar
darksideby182
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: cove grove

PostRe: General PC Help Thread 2
by darksideby182 » Wed Jan 23, 2019 4:52 pm

more heat than light wrote:
darksideby182 wrote:
more heat than light wrote:I'm having some problems connecting my PC to my WiFi network. For some reason it can't find the network at all, despite my phone and Xbox connecting just fine. Weird thing is it's bringing up a load of other networks, so the card isn't faulty or anything, it just won't find mine. :?

Is the PC card only 2.4G and the networks are 5G?


I don't know what this means, but it's worked fine before.

It's the frequency that the wireless signal uses 5G will have more bandwidth where as 2.4G will not but is still good for most broadband.
As for your issue maybe try updating the drivers or giving the router a reboot.

Wii U : punkeator
Xbox live : darksideby182
Psn : darksideby182
steam : Punkeator
Origin : Punkeator
Switch : 6739-1557-7191
User avatar
more heat than light
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Leicestershire

PostRe: General PC Help Thread 2
by more heat than light » Wed Jan 23, 2019 7:10 pm

darksideby182 wrote:
more heat than light wrote:
darksideby182 wrote:
more heat than light wrote:I'm having some problems connecting my PC to my WiFi network. For some reason it can't find the network at all, despite my phone and Xbox connecting just fine. Weird thing is it's bringing up a load of other networks, so the card isn't faulty or anything, it just won't find mine. :?

Is the PC card only 2.4G and the networks are 5G?


I don't know what this means, but it's worked fine before.

It's the frequency that the wireless signal uses 5G will have more bandwidth where as 2.4G will not but is still good for most broadband.
As for your issue maybe try updating the drivers or giving the router a reboot.


Cheers man, I'll give it a go. Complete novice with this sort of thing.

jawafour wrote:You definitely have the biggest one, mhtl - it's strawberry-floatin' massive!
User avatar
Drumstick
Member ♥
Joined in 2008
AKA: Vampbuster

PostRe: General PC Help Thread 2
by Drumstick » Mon Feb 18, 2019 1:21 pm

Team, I'm in need of some advice.

I am looking to upgrade my PC without breaking the bank, but I know that changing certain parts may make other parts not work. These are the relevant bits to my existing build from 2011.

1 x Sapphire HD 6870 1GB GDDR5 DVI HDMI DisplayPort PCI-E Graphics Card
1 x AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Socket AM3 3.2 GHz 6MB L3 Cache Retail Boxed Processor
1 x Asus M4A88T-V EVO/USB3 880G Socket AM3 ONboard 128MB Memory DVI VGA HDMI Out ATX Motherboard
1 x Corsair 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1333MHz XMS3 Memory Kit CL8(8-8-8-24) Classic Heat Spreader 1.65V
1 x Corsair 500W CX Series PSU
1 x Coolermaster Elite 334 Black Mid Tower Case - No PSU


The GPU is struck out because it bricked about 18 months ago and because I don’t use the computer as much as I used to, I’ve got by with the basic display driver at MASSIVE resolution.

However, soon I will be undertaking a project where I suspect a little more grunt will be needed, certainly a graphics card. Having checked eBay, I could buy a direct replacement for £30-£40… but I want to see how much I could spend to bring the old girl up a tier or two (if that would be necessary?). In short I’ll be wanting to capture some game footage, probably with an Elgato HD60 and do some video editing. The machine is also very loud and sounds unerringly like a vacuum when there’s a lot going on (that happened even with the GPU, not sure if that’s relevant to it eventually breaking). I don’t really have a budget and I’m only looking speculatively. Basically, I will definitely want to buy a GPU, definitely want 8GB RAM, and I don’t know if the existing process and mobo are still decent.

One man should not have this much power in this game. Luckily I'm not an ordinary man.
Image Image
"economically unviable"
-Oblomov Boblomov

Return to “Stuff”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mr. Sis Boom Bah, MSN [Bot], Snowcannon and 44 guests