One Star Movie Reviews Quiz! *WE HAVE A CHAMPION!*

Fed up talking videogames? Why?
User avatar
Rax
Member
Joined in 2008
AKA: Raxicori

PostRe: One Star Movie Reviews Quiz! *Round 2*
by Rax » Fri Oct 04, 2019 9:36 am

I think Ive done pretty well with those actually, more confident than I was with the first lot.

User avatar
Corazon de Leon
Doctor ♥
Joined in 2008
AKA: Deadpool / sntaa

PostRe: One Star Movie Reviews Quiz! *Round 1*
by Corazon de Leon » Fri Oct 04, 2019 11:37 am

Vermilion wrote:Right then, round 1 has concluded, and the answers are...

1. Captain Marvel
2. IT: Chapter 1
3. Interstellar
4. Drive
5. The Grand Budapest Hotel
6. This is the End
7. Pulp Fiction
8. Star Wars IV: A New Hope
9. Spiderman 2
10. Jurassic World
11. The Matrix Reloaded
12. Frozen

----------------------------

...and here's the scoreboard...

One Star Movie Reviews: Leaderboard

Taf - 12pts
Sawyerpip - 12pts
Cora - 11pts
Skarjo - 11pts
Moggy - 11pts
Edd - 10pts
Ironhide - 10pts
Rax - 9pts
LightWanderer - 9pts
OrangeRKN - 8pts
Jenuall - 8pts


Awk, surely half a point for getting The Matrix! :dread:

Image
User avatar
Corazon de Leon
Doctor ♥
Joined in 2008
AKA: Deadpool / sntaa

PostRe: One Star Movie Reviews Quiz! *Round 2*
by Corazon de Leon » Fri Oct 04, 2019 11:43 am

Actually forget that, I just re-read the review and obviously missed the important “second movie” line. Curses!

Image
User avatar
OrangeRKN
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: One Star Movie Reviews Quiz! *Round 2*
by OrangeRKN » Fri Oct 04, 2019 11:46 am

Kicking myself for not getting the Matrix Reloaded but as I've not seen Interstellar or Drive I don't feel bad about missing those. Spiderman 2 was my other miss and I certainly won't feel bad about that :lol:

"Nintendo fanboys are the worst kind" - gamerforever
Image
Image
Web - RedBubble - @OrangeRakoon - GOTY 2018
User avatar
Moggy
"Special"
Joined in 2008

PostRe: One Star Movie Reviews Quiz! *Round 2*
by Moggy » Fri Oct 04, 2019 11:49 am

I had no idea about Drive, I guessed Atomic Blonde. :lol:

The second list is harder imo. I have made some guesses and am hoping I am on the right lines.

User avatar
Jenuall
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: 40 light-years outside of the buttermilk nebula

PostRe: One Star Movie Reviews Quiz! *Round 2*
by Jenuall » Fri Oct 04, 2019 12:44 pm

I think I'm at the same split of known and guesses as on the first round.

Going to continue my approach of giving Vermi joke guesses for the ones that I don't know as I like to think it's my job to make him cringe bring smile to his face when he conducts the important job of tallying the scores! :slol:

Image
User avatar
sawyerpip
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: One Star Movie Reviews Quiz! *Round 2*
by sawyerpip » Fri Oct 04, 2019 1:02 pm

Corazon de Leon wrote:Actually forget that, I just re-read the review and obviously missed the important “second movie” line. Curses!


I made the exact same mistake as you initially. Luckily I was able to correct my error when I noticed as I was reading out the reviews to my partner.

This second list looks much harder than the first, I think I know just over half of them but will have to have a think about the others.

User avatar
LightWanderer
Member
Joined in 2018
AKA: AnOpenCasket
Location: Earth

PostRe: One Star Movie Reviews Quiz! *Round 2*
by LightWanderer » Fri Oct 04, 2019 1:30 pm

sawyerpip wrote:This second list looks much harder than the first, I think I know just over half of them but will have to have a think about the others.


I've actually found the second one a lot easier. Assuming I'm correct with the others, I only skipped one (number six). In the first round, I had a bunch of skips or wildcard guesses! I had to rack my brains for a solid ten minutes for the last question in round two though because of a factual error on the part of the reviewer, so I had to think about certain things that would help me remember the fact to make sure I wasn't barking up the wrong tree.

Gutted I'm in 7th place (out of eleven). Round One had a lot of movies I've never seen before.
Captain Marvel - never seen but knew by the review what they were talking about. Some woman coming in and "destroying" a decade-long franchise. Brie Larson gets A LOT of hate in r/Marvel and on YouTube.
It - never seen but have read the book
Interstellar - never seen but I've heard people talk about it
Drive - skipped this one
Grand Budapest Hotel - never seen but knew bad Hulk appears in this movie so when they said "hotel" I knew it had to be this
This is the End - I guessed it was Sausage Party. I was wrong.
Pulp Fiction - never seen it
A New Hope - obviously knew this one
Spider-Man 2 - knew this one. Vermilion didn't write the hyphen so he should disqualify himself!!!!!!!
Jurassic World - knew this one, saw it with a former bf on our first date
The Matrix Reloaded - never seen any Matrix films but what other "simulated reality" movie features Keanu Reeves and is a sequel? Was a safe guess
Frozen - seen this one many times

Last edited by LightWanderer on Fri Oct 04, 2019 1:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
OrangeRKN
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: One Star Movie Reviews Quiz! *Round 2*
by OrangeRKN » Fri Oct 04, 2019 1:43 pm

Made a good guess at all of round two, which is better than the blanks I left in the first round, so we'll see.

Would be fun if D.J included some of the incorrect guesses during the results!

"Nintendo fanboys are the worst kind" - gamerforever
Image
Image
Web - RedBubble - @OrangeRakoon - GOTY 2018
User avatar
LightWanderer
Member
Joined in 2018
AKA: AnOpenCasket
Location: Earth

PostRe: One Star Movie Reviews Quiz! *Round 2*
by LightWanderer » Fri Oct 04, 2019 1:45 pm

OrangeRKN wrote:Would be fun if D.J included some of the incorrect guesses during the results!


^this

Image
User avatar
Moggy
"Special"
Joined in 2008

PostRe: One Star Movie Reviews Quiz! *Round 2*
by Moggy » Fri Oct 04, 2019 1:53 pm

LightWanderer wrote:The Matrix Reloaded - never seen any Matrix films but what other "simulated reality" movie features Keeanu Reeves and is a sequel?


The Matrix Revolutions?

User avatar
LightWanderer
Member
Joined in 2018
AKA: AnOpenCasket
Location: Earth

PostRe: One Star Movie Reviews Quiz! *Round 2*
by LightWanderer » Fri Oct 04, 2019 1:56 pm

Moggy wrote:
LightWanderer wrote:The Matrix Reloaded - never seen any Matrix films but what other "simulated reality" movie features Keanu Reeves and is a sequel?


The Matrix Revolutions?


Image

User avatar
Jenuall
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: 40 light-years outside of the buttermilk nebula

PostRe: One Star Movie Reviews Quiz! *Round 2*
by Jenuall » Fri Oct 04, 2019 2:00 pm

That was a trick question because as we all know there are no sequels to The Matrix.

Image
User avatar
Tafdolphin
Member
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: One Star Movie Reviews Quiz! *Round 2*
by Tafdolphin » Fri Oct 04, 2019 2:07 pm

I only managed to answer 11 of those so my time at the top may well be brief.

Night Call: a game what I worked on. Out now!
t: @Tafdolphin | Twitch: Tafdolphin
User avatar
OrangeRKN
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: One Star Movie Reviews Quiz! *Round 2*
by OrangeRKN » Fri Oct 04, 2019 2:15 pm

Tafdolphin wrote:I only managed to answer 11 of those


humble brag

"Nintendo fanboys are the worst kind" - gamerforever
Image
Image
Web - RedBubble - @OrangeRakoon - GOTY 2018
User avatar
sawyerpip
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: One Star Movie Reviews Quiz! *Round 2*
by sawyerpip » Fri Oct 04, 2019 4:25 pm

Tafdolphin wrote:I only managed to answer 11 of those so my time at the top may well be brief.


My time at the top ( ;) ) will also likely be brief as I've left 3 blank for the time being. I think I may be able to get two of them, but one of them I haven't got a clue on.

User avatar
Corazon de Leon
Doctor ♥
Joined in 2008
AKA: Deadpool / sntaa

PostRe: One Star Movie Reviews Quiz! *Round 2*
by Corazon de Leon » Fri Oct 04, 2019 4:26 pm

Genuinely struggling with no. 8. Think I've got a good handle on the others, but no. 8 is really annoying me.

Image
User avatar
Jenuall
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: 40 light-years outside of the buttermilk nebula

PostRe: One Star Movie Reviews Quiz! *Round 2*
by Jenuall » Fri Oct 04, 2019 4:29 pm

8 is annoying me as well. I've got two that are blank at the moment and at least one other that I'm not really confident on!

Image
User avatar
Corazon de Leon
Doctor ♥
Joined in 2008
AKA: Deadpool / sntaa

PostRe: One Star Movie Reviews Quiz! *Round 2*
by Corazon de Leon » Fri Oct 04, 2019 4:33 pm

There's one where I'm caught between two movies, and I've gone with one over the other only because of the vaguest of memories. It's really annoyed me, because if the answer is right then the movie is strawberry floating awful. Deserving of a one star review.

Image
User avatar
Tafdolphin
Member
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: One Star Movie Reviews Quiz! *Round 2*
by Tafdolphin » Fri Oct 04, 2019 5:48 pm

8 was the one I didn't get. I'm very much looking forward to its reveal.

Night Call: a game what I worked on. Out now!
t: @Tafdolphin | Twitch: Tafdolphin

Return to “Stuff”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Lex-Man, MSN [Bot], Ste and 59 guests