The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1

Fed up talking videogames? Why?
User avatar
BID0
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Essex

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by BID0 » Wed Aug 03, 2011 7:35 pm

Yeh we have the A110 downstairs. I like the look of the older style casing, but the newer plastic ones don't look as good (in the promo material at least)

How much did that cost? Where did you get it from? I know that Scan and other UK places are stocking them now so you don't have to import them :D

User avatar
CrystalGipsy
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Hung over somewhere in a Martini glass

PostThe Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by CrystalGipsy » Wed Aug 03, 2011 7:44 pm

Ditched my A100 a while back in favour of a acer revo 3700 running xbmc. So much better and easier to use. Popcorn hour are great machines held back by poor ui. Xbmc need to get more hardware solutions like boxes have done as it's still best software for organizing and acessing your film collection.

It's cocktail time!. Then again when isn't it.
User avatar
Mommy
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by Mommy » Wed Aug 03, 2011 8:33 pm

BID0 wrote:Yeh we have the A110 downstairs. I like the look of the older style casing, but the newer plastic ones don't look as good (in the promo material at least)

How much did that cost? Where did you get it from? I know that Scan and other UK places are stocking them now so you don't have to import them :D


Think I paid about £180 for mine initially (it had a 400GB drive in it which was pretty big at the time). I got it off Ebay but www.advancedmp3players.co.uk sell them too.

User avatar
TheTurnipKing
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by TheTurnipKing » Wed Aug 03, 2011 10:12 pm

Drunken_Master wrote:
TheTurnipKing wrote:Got my ER1401 set up and almost ready to roll.

Nice. I presume you're gonna use xbmc

I'm still dealing with some hardware shennagins (Got some wireless speed issues to resolve), but XBMC's already on there.

It promises to be very nice when I get it all configured properly.

User avatar
Minty14
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Nottinghamshire
Contact:

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by Minty14 » Sat Aug 06, 2011 8:30 pm

Right, a couple of questions for the folks experienced in XBMC.

I've finally got it up and running and it looks great, even using an old Sempron system, but I have a couple of major problems.

Firstly, I'm using a graphics card for the video output but it's only DVI so I was planning on using the onboard audio output. However, I'm getting no sound what so ever through the front or rear audio ports and have tried speakers, headphones etc. Am I definitely going to need a seperate sound card, or is it possible to get audio through onboard?

Secondly, I am using a 1TB drive which was previously in my Ubuntu Server as storage. I created a new partition for the XBMC Live install because I didn't want to lose my videos. But now, I can't find a way to be able to access the files on the storage partition which is ext3 formatted so I can't imagine it will be unable to recognise it.

If anyone can shed any light I would appreciate it. :D

User avatar
TheTurnipKing
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: Re: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by TheTurnipKing » Sat Aug 06, 2011 9:29 pm

Minty14 wrote:Right, a couple of questions for the folks experienced in XBMC.

I've finally got it up and running and it looks great, even using an old Sempron system, but I have a couple of major problems.

Firstly, I'm using a graphics card for the video output but it's only DVI so I was planning on using the onboard audio output. However, I'm getting no sound what so ever through the front or rear audio ports and have tried speakers, headphones etc. Am I definitely going to need a seperate sound card, or is it possible to get audio through onboard?

Secondly, I am using a 1TB drive which was previously in my Ubuntu Server as storage. I created a new partition for the XBMC Live install because I didn't want to lose my videos. But now, I can't find a way to be able to access the files on the storage partition which is ext3 formatted so I can't imagine it will be unable to recognise it.

If anyone can shed any light I would appreciate it. :D

The rear audio ports should be producing sound, but obviously you'll need the motherboard mounted ones.

The ext partition could be a problem, though. Windows, by default, point blank refuses to acknowledge the existence of other file systems. If it was a second dedicated box, you could just connect it to the network as a samba share, but I have to confess to being a little stumped here.

Maybe you can find software to drive it in Windows?

User avatar
Drunken_Master
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by Drunken_Master » Sat Aug 06, 2011 10:04 pm

create a bootable USB stick with UNIX distro on it. Something like Ubuntu. boot machine with hard-drive in it. You should be able to see the partition from there. copy files onto a USB drive or a network share.

Image

Prime Directives : Prosecute those who steal memes from other forums. :fp:
User avatar
Frank
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by Frank » Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:44 pm

Just won a Popcorn Hour C-200 on eBay. Now I need to get buying a blu-ray drive...

Image
User avatar
BID0
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Essex

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by BID0 » Sun Aug 07, 2011 6:16 pm

A drive? :| It's 2011! Not the 90's

User avatar
Frank
Member
Joined in 2009

PostThe Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by Frank » Sun Aug 07, 2011 6:32 pm

Fine, a blu-ray burner...

Image
User avatar
Frank
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by Frank » Tue Aug 09, 2011 4:45 pm

Right, my C-200 just turned up. When the guy said it was "Like New" he wasn't joking. Everything's still in the original wrapper - Including the batteries for the remote! :lol:

It's come with the dodgy French power lead though, so does anyone know the kind of plug I need to get for it?

Also, mommy, have you got yours set up yet? I might need to ask you for advice at some point, if that's alright :shifty:

Image
User avatar
JiggerJay
Member
Joined in 2008
Contact:

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by JiggerJay » Tue Aug 09, 2011 5:05 pm

I'm kinda in the market for a new set of speakers, now I'm not looking for anything too amazing! but I would like a wireless reciever? Is that even possible? I.e. so I can have my TV and PC hooked up to it, as they are both on opposite sides of the room.

Looking max around £500?

Skarjo wrote:You can buy all the fancy houses you want, we still remember you in a bath covered in ketchup for a free copy of CSI.

Image
Instagram Twitter
User avatar
BID0
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Essex

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by BID0 » Tue Aug 09, 2011 11:00 pm

Frank wrote:Right, my C-200 just turned up. When the guy said it was "Like New" he wasn't joking. Everything's still in the original wrapper - Including the batteries for the remote! :lol:

It's come with the dodgy French power lead though, so does anyone know the kind of plug I need to get for it?

Also, mommy, have you got yours set up yet? I might need to ask you for advice at some point, if that's alright :shifty:

Probably 12v. The plug should have it written on...

12v DC probably. Then you need to make sure you at least match the Amp rating (or slightly higher). Will be a number with a capital A following it. A laptop power supply will probably meet your requirements?


I'll get some more done on the OP on Friday :fp: been busy lately. I'll probably work on the playback section next, XBMC etc.




EDIT: Popcorn A-110 PSU is...

Image

The C-200 might need more/less juice but the picture above of mine should give you an indication of what numbers you're looking for!

User avatar
That's not a growth
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by That's not a growth » Wed Aug 10, 2011 12:03 am

Is there a option on xbmc that when you watch a tv show from your collection that it will remember which episode you watched last so all you have to do is click on the shows title then it suggests what episode you should watch next?

And if so, is there an option where you can make a "channels". Say I choose from 5 shows I've been watching, and its the one I'm up to on each one after another.

That would be awesome. Be like creating playlists that adapt.

User avatar
TheTurnipKing
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by TheTurnipKing » Wed Aug 10, 2011 6:51 am

That's not a growth wrote:Is there a option on xbmc that when you watch a tv show from your collection that it will remember which episode you watched last so all you have to do is click on the shows title then it suggests what episode you should watch next?

And if so, is there an option where you can make a "channels". Say I choose from 5 shows I've been watching, and its the one I'm up to on each one after another.

That would be awesome. Be like creating playlists that adapt.

Not on any of the skins I've seen, but it does keep track of whether episodes are watched/unwatched, so the functionality seems feasible.

User avatar
TheTurnipKing
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by TheTurnipKing » Wed Aug 10, 2011 4:24 pm

TheTurnipKing wrote:
That's not a growth wrote:Is there a option on xbmc that when you watch a tv show from your collection that it will remember which episode you watched last so all you have to do is click on the shows title then it suggests what episode you should watch next?

And if so, is there an option where you can make a "channels". Say I choose from 5 shows I've been watching, and its the one I'm up to on each one after another.

That would be awesome. Be like creating playlists that adapt.

Not on any of the skins I've seen, but it does keep track of whether episodes are watched/unwatched, so the functionality seems feasible.

I don't know if there's anything here that might be of use...
http://htpcguide.info/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=68:how-to-make-your-wife-fiancee-her-very-own-tv-channel&catid=38:xbmc-how-tos&Itemid=62

User avatar
That's not a growth
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by That's not a growth » Thu Aug 11, 2011 8:59 pm

Yeah, that might work, thanks!

User avatar
Frank
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by Frank » Tue Aug 16, 2011 5:14 pm

My Hard Drive for the C-200 just turned up \o/

It doesn't come with any screws :fp: strawberry float. I'm sure we've got some in the cupboard, but unfortunately the box of computer bits in the cupboard is buried under about 14,000 jigsaws (not an exaggeration). This is becoming like the iPhone fiasco all over again, only this time I've actually got my hands on the bloody hardware :x

Also, Handbrake still downright refuses to convert anything into a 720p m4v. mkvs, .avis, whatever. It just starts doing it, gets a random percentage of the way through and just freezes up. Entirely. Can't close it (can't even force bloody quit it), and I've gotta restart my computer before I can do anything. I don't understand what the problem is, as I can't find anyone else with the same issues :x Hopefully once I've got this stupid box working I won't need to cock about with it anymore.

Image
User avatar
Frank
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by Frank » Wed Aug 17, 2011 8:17 am

Revelation!

On the Handbrake side of things, at least. It would appear that it only fails to do anything when I'm reading/writing from my External Hard Drive :? Copied the file onto my internal drive and cleared enough space for the Handbrake output file and it seems to have worked fine, weird.

Just contacted my friend at Maplins to see if he'll pick some Hard Drive screws up for me too, so hopefully I can get started with the C-200 either tonight or tomorrow...

Image
User avatar
BID0
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Essex

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by BID0 » Wed Aug 31, 2011 11:10 pm



Return to “Stuff”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], MSN [Bot], Photek, Snowcannon and 51 guests