The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1

Fed up talking videogames? Why?
bear
Member
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by bear » Wed Sep 28, 2011 9:50 am

I posted this in the bargain thread but I figured it'd be relevant here also.


bear wrote:Iomega Tv with Boxee £29.99

http://www.expansys.com/iomega-tv-with-boxee-hd-network-media-player-207734/

Does anyone know if Expansys will honour that price if I order it now?

User avatar
BID0
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Essex

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by BID0 » Wed Sep 28, 2011 11:09 am

D_C wrote:Anyone know of a decent program to convert DTS audio within an MKV to AC3 audio? Currently trying to get HD rips to work with both the PS3 upstairs and GoFlex TV player downstairs.

MKV Merge is a useful tool but fairly complicated, you may need to use Google. You can strip out parts of MKVs that you don't need like extra Audio tracks and Subtitles.

You should be able to use that to pull out the Audio, convert it to something else and repackage it into an MKV again.

Is it the GoFlex that isn't playing back the DTS stream?


bear wrote:I posted this in the bargain thread but I figured it'd be relevant here also.


bear wrote:Iomega Tv with Boxee £29.99

http://www.expansys.com/iomega-tv-with-boxee-hd-network-media-player-207734/

Does anyone know if Expansys will honour that price if I order it now?

Nice! They should honour it. I picked up a cheapy MKV player a year or so ago for around £40 and even got £10 cashback a month later. I think Expansys are a French company though so you might have trouble with any returns.

bear
Member
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by bear » Wed Sep 28, 2011 12:02 pm

It's got a $250 retail price in the states so I'm not expecting them to honour that price but I figured it was well worth taking a shot on. Should know in a few weeks if it works out.
Then I'll have to figure out using Boxee. :lol:

User avatar
BID0
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Essex

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by BID0 » Wed Sep 28, 2011 12:08 pm

I found the Boxee software quite good on the PC, but (when I used it at least) the 3rd party content just wasn't there for the UK. It does a good job of pulling your own media together with things such as iPlayer.

Also being able to connect to sites like Facebook is nice if you have a lot of friends who use similar social networks. You can use them to link each other to episodes etc.

Good luck, hopefully it gets honoured :mrgreen: Maybe they forgot to add another 9 to the figure? :shifty:

User avatar
Frank
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by Frank » Thu Oct 20, 2011 3:26 pm

Finally got round to getting a blu-ray burner, so now I'm busy ripping all my blu-rays :wub: I'm ripping them using MakeMKV at the moment, which takes the full movie, all the audio tracks and the subtitles off the disc, so they all end up being like... 20gig or something ridiculous. What's the easiest way of re-encoding them so they're like... around 10GB like 1080p downloads always are? Just tried to do it using handbrake and it seems to have cocked up the audio... :? It cuts out every few seconds, so it sounds really choppy...

Image
User avatar
BID0
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Essex

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by BID0 » Thu Oct 20, 2011 3:29 pm

What file type are you ending up with after ripping?

I use MKV Merge normally to weed out subtitles ad unwanted audio streams. I think that will only work with the MKV container format though.

User avatar
Frank
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by Frank » Thu Oct 20, 2011 3:33 pm

Clue's in the name ;) MakeMKV.

I'll see what MKV Merge does, but even when I only rip the audio tracks and subtitles I want they're pushing 20GB...

Image
User avatar
BID0
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Essex

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by BID0 » Thu Oct 20, 2011 3:35 pm

Well they're probably not being compressed. Also I recommend sticking to 720 not 1080 as that'll halve the file size with little noticeable difference.

User avatar
Frank
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by Frank » Thu Oct 20, 2011 5:16 pm

A-ha! Figured out a way of doing it if Handbrake keeps failing. Use MKVmerge to strip purely the video track out of the blu-ray rip, re-encode it using handbrake to be about 9-10GB then mix it all back together 8-) I can probably encode them to be even smaller file-wise, but I'll have to do a bit of trial-and-error research...

Wall-E :wub:

Image
User avatar
Frank
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by Frank » Fri Oct 21, 2011 3:14 pm

I seem to have got Up down to 7.6GB in 1080p (using an average bitrate of around 9.5mb/s). That sounds far too good to be true, so I'm gonna have to watch it now to see if I can spot any obvious artifact-ing... The lossless audio track for Up is like... 3gig!

Image
User avatar
Mommy
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by Mommy » Fri Oct 21, 2011 4:29 pm

I converted Gladiator the other night in a couple of hours. Only 50GB.


I need to suss this gooseberry fool out.

User avatar
Frank
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by Frank » Fri Oct 21, 2011 5:33 pm

What kind of settings are you using for that? Sounds like you might've ripped the entire blu-ray, menus, extras and all.

Ripping The Dark Knight now. Anyone know why there seem to be two different versions of the movie on the disc? One of them has English+A load of European languages for audio and subtitles, and the other just has English and Japanese. They're both the same size, though :? Or is MakeMKV reading one... folder, so to speak, as two seperate entities? It did it for Wall-E too...

Image
User avatar
D_C
Member
Joined in 2011

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by D_C » Fri Oct 21, 2011 5:44 pm

BID0 wrote:
D_C wrote:Anyone know of a decent program to convert DTS audio within an MKV to AC3 audio? Currently trying to get HD rips to work with both the PS3 upstairs and GoFlex TV player downstairs.

MKV Merge is a useful tool but fairly complicated, you may need to use Google. You can strip out parts of MKVs that you don't need like extra Audio tracks and Subtitles.

You should be able to use that to pull out the Audio, convert it to something else and repackage it into an MKV again.

Is it the GoFlex that isn't playing back the DTS stream?



Yeah, I ended up using XviD4PSP to rip the sound and convert it into AC3, then tsMuxer to take out the DTS and replace it with the AC3. Then all I had to do was mux it into an M2ts file (which plays on both formats properly).

And yeah, I think it was the GoFlex that was the problem.

User avatar
Frank
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by Frank » Fri Oct 21, 2011 7:51 pm

Just discovered I could cut out the MakeMKV middleman. Handbrake has been updated so it can rip blu-rays as well as DVDs :fp:

Image
User avatar
Mommy
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by Mommy » Sat Oct 22, 2011 10:27 am

Frank wrote:What kind of settings are you using for that? Sounds like you might've ripped the entire blu-ray, menus, extras and all.

Ripping The Dark Knight now. Anyone know why there seem to be two different versions of the movie on the disc? One of them has English+A load of European languages for audio and subtitles, and the other just has English and Japanese. They're both the same size, though :? Or is MakeMKV reading one... folder, so to speak, as two seperate entities? It did it for Wall-E too...



Is there a version with the Director voice over on it?

I'm ripping the whole thing btw. Need to find a tutorial really.

How you finding your PCH anyway mate?

User avatar
Frank
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by Frank » Sat Oct 22, 2011 11:48 am

Mommy wrote:
Frank wrote:What kind of settings are you using for that? Sounds like you might've ripped the entire blu-ray, menus, extras and all.

Ripping The Dark Knight now. Anyone know why there seem to be two different versions of the movie on the disc? One of them has English+A load of European languages for audio and subtitles, and the other just has English and Japanese. They're both the same size, though :? Or is MakeMKV reading one... folder, so to speak, as two seperate entities? It did it for Wall-E too...



Is there a version with the Director voice over on it?

I'm ripping the whole thing btw. Need to find a tutorial really.

How you finding your PCH anyway mate?


The commentary seems to be a seperate audio track, rather than a whole seperate video. Toy Story 3 also lists four different versions of the movie, three are the same length and one is thirty seconds shorter... :? No matter which version I rip it seems to be right, though. I was wondering if it might be a Spider-Man 2 style thing, where it comes with both the "Theatrical edition" and "Spider-Man 2.1 - 8 Extra minutes of footage!", but none of them seem to mention including multiple versions of the movie on the box.

I quite like the PCH, love the YAMJ thing. Wish I could get it completely automated, though. Having to run a command line every time I want to add a new movie to the moviewall is a slight irritation.

How's yours and your fancypants home-programmed UI?

Also, anyone know how I can get handbrake to encode the Dark Knight with a variable aspect ratio? Just ran it through and it's trimmed the top and bottom off the IMAX bits... If it just added black borders to the bits filmed with a standard camera it'd be fine.

Image
User avatar
Frank
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by Frank » Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:26 am

Bugger. Just updated my YAMJ thing on my computer (because it kept giving me some IMDb error when I searched for movies), and it's overwritten the entire folder, so all my saved settings, skins, and the like have been overwritten.

I can't even remember how to make it search an external drive for the sodding library :fp: Why doesn't it just replace the relevant files. strawberry float.

EDIT: Got it to find the media library again, now I just need to remember where I downloaded the skin from. And remember how the mediainfo nonsense worked :shifty:

Image
User avatar
TigaSefi
Member
Joined in 2008
Contact:

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by TigaSefi » Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:49 am

Really ought to upgrade my Ready NAS to 2Tb RAID :fp: but the hdd prices are through the roof now.

Image
1 > 2 > 3 >>>>>>> 4 >>>>> 5
User avatar
That's not a growth
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by That's not a growth » Mon Jan 30, 2012 7:15 pm

Question: I have a apple airport express and a HDD that has a LAN slot. Is this enough to add the drive to my internet network, meaning any device that is connected to the internet can access the media on the drive? I'd like to know before I go to the hassle of trying it.

User avatar
Frank
Member
Joined in 2009

PostRe: The Home Cinema Topic - How To Rip Your DVDs page1
by Frank » Sun Feb 26, 2012 8:53 am

Right, as I seem to be developing a blu-ray collection, it's probably about time I picked up a blu-ray drive for my C-200.

Mommy, did you ever get a working BR-drive for yours? The wiki has a big list of compatible drives and how well they work, so it seems a bit harder than just buying one and shoving it in :(

Image

Return to “Stuff”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot], Photek, Snowcannon and 56 guests