What is a POSITIVE controversial gaming opinion you hold

Anything to do with games at all.
User avatar
Captain Kinopio
Member
Joined in 2008
AKA: Herbi
Location: The Observatory

PostWhat is a POSITIVE controversial gaming opinion you hold
by Captain Kinopio » Fri Feb 14, 2020 11:19 pm

Shamelessly stolen from Era as I thought it was interesting. Everyone has a ‘Ocarina of Time is over rated’ or ‘Naughty Dogs last good game was on PS2’ in their back pocket and we hear them all too often.

What about a positive one though, do you actually like Anthem? Do you think Activision Blizzard have good business ethics? Believe the Switch is a good console? Let’s hear ‘em...


To kick things off, I think Metroid Other M is excellent and the best controlling Metroid game we’ve had for 20 years. It feels fast and fluid, the boss fights are almost all superb and it was nice to see someone at least try and move the Metroid story forward.

Last edited by Captain Kinopio on Sat Feb 15, 2020 9:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Clarkman
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: What is a POSITIVE controversial gaming opinion you hold
by Clarkman » Fri Feb 14, 2020 11:29 pm

VR headsets look pretty strawberry floating cool.

User avatar
Alvin Flummux
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Wilmington, OH, USA
Contact:

PostRe: What is a POSITIVE controversial gaming opinion you hold
by Alvin Flummux » Sat Feb 15, 2020 12:00 am

I think that DICE has done a phenomenal job with extremely limited resources on keeping SW Battlefront 2 alive and then completely turning around what was one of the biggest gaming debacles of the decade.

Those guys. Those beautiful guys. :wub:

User avatar
PsychicSykes
Emeritus
Emeritus
Joined in 2008
Location: Sykes Stadium

PostRe: What is a POSITIVE controversial gaming opinion you hold
by PsychicSykes » Sat Feb 15, 2020 12:14 am

Majoras Mask is a better game than OOT.

User avatar
Jenuall
Member
Joined in 2008
AKA: Jenuall
Location: 40 light-years outside of the Exeter nebula

PostRe: What is a POSITIVE controversial gaming opinion you hold
by Jenuall » Sat Feb 15, 2020 12:20 am

PsychicSykes wrote:Majoras Mask is a better game than OOT.

This is supposed to be the controversial opinion thread, this one is just a fact. ;)

Image
User avatar
jawa4
Member
Joined in 2020

PostRe: What is a POSITIVE controversial gaming opinion you hold
by jawa4 » Sat Feb 15, 2020 12:21 am

I enjoyed both No Man's Sky and Fallout 76 at launch and I've enjoyed playing through the evolution of those games since then... I love 'em!

I thought that VR looked a bit pony until I tried it; and stuff like Astro Bot, Ocean Dive and Batman absolutely changed my opinion. Brilliant experiences that felt like major advances in gaming.

User avatar
ITSMILNER
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: UK

PostRe: What is a POSITIVE controversial gaming opinion you hold
by ITSMILNER » Sat Feb 15, 2020 1:14 am

Nintendo Switch is close to becoming the greatest Nintendo console of all time, it just needs more legacy content.

Long Live Switch Squad!
User avatar
Parksey
Moderator
Joined in 2008

PostRe: What is a POSITIVE controversial gaming opinion you hold
by Parksey » Sat Feb 15, 2020 6:40 am

Yeah I'm with you on Other M. It's got some flaws, largely in how they handled the story and general anime-esque characters, but it seemed to suffer unfairly because of those, and because it followed the more stoic isolation of the Prime series.

It's as close to a 2D Metroid in 3D as you will get. It basically is a 2D Metroid and I really liked the change of pace from the previous console games.

My opinion is that the 3D Sonic games are as accurate a representation of the 2D games as you'll ever get (the Sonic levels anyway). The Sonic parts of the 3D games are absolutely fine.

User avatar
Zilnad
Member
Joined in 2019

PostRe: What is a POSITIVE controversial gaming opinion you hold
by Zilnad » Sat Feb 15, 2020 6:45 am

DmC is the best Devil May Cry alongside V.

User avatar
Nun
Member
Joined in 2015

PostRe: What is a POSITIVE controversial gaming opinion you hold
by Nun » Sat Feb 15, 2020 7:19 am

I'm a still a big fan of Super Paper Mario, it's not as good as the first two for sure but it's criminal how often it gets lumped in with Sticker Star and Co in the trash and blamed for being the downfall of the series.

User avatar
Dandle in the Wind
Go for it, Danmon!
Joined in 2008
Location: Peach Mountain

PostRe: What is a POSITIVE controversial gaming opinion you hold
by Dandle in the Wind » Sat Feb 15, 2020 7:57 am

Captain Kinopio wrote:Believe the Switch is a good console?


Not even close to being a controversial opinion. :lol:

Generating Real Conversations About Digital Entertainment
Image
User avatar
OrangeRKN
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: What is a POSITIVE controversial gaming opinion you hold
by OrangeRKN » Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:52 am

Fallout 76 is a brilliant game, and (while not directly comparable) much better than Fallout 4.

Skyward Sword is one of the better Zelda games, as is Phantom Hourglass.

BOTW's weapon degradation and rain are good mechanics.

Devil's Third had genuinely brilliant multiplayer, and the singleplayer is interesting and engaging.

Sword/Shield are very good pokemon games.

Jak II was a brilliant evolution for the series.

The Lost Frontier is a good Jak and Daxter game.

Steep is one of the best snowboarding games.

The PSP was the best handheld until the Switch.

Wiimote + nunchuk is the best FPS control scheme.

User avatar
Jordan UK
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: What is a POSITIVE controversial gaming opinion you hold
by Jordan UK » Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:53 am

PsychicSykes wrote:Majoras Mask is a better game than OOT.


Certainly the one I enjoyed more.

User avatar
Hime
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: What is a POSITIVE controversial gaming opinion you hold
by Hime » Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:56 am

Naughty Dog's games have actually gotten better with each game. I'd argue UC4 is the first really good Uncharted game.

The notion that everyone good left Infinity Ward is rubbish as Modern Warfare is the best CoD game so far.

Last edited by Hime on Sat Feb 15, 2020 9:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
OrangeRKN
SONM & Cake Sec.
SONM & Cake Sec.
Joined in 2015
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

PostRe: What is a POSITIVE controversial gaming opinion you hold
by OrangeRKN » Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:59 am

Hime wrote:Naughty Dog's games have actually gotten better with each game. If argue UC4 is the first really Uncharted game.


Not sure this counts as a positive opinion :lol:

User avatar
Balladeer
Member
Joined in 2018
Location: Lord's

PostRe: What is a POSITIVE controversial gaming opinion you hold
by Balladeer » Sat Feb 15, 2020 9:11 am

Big fan of this thread idea, needless Switch-bashing in the OP aside. Since you shamelessly stole this I'll probably shamelessly steal it for GNamer. :shifty: For starters:

ITSMILNER wrote:Nintendo Switch is close to becoming the greatest Nintendo console of all time, it just needs more legacy content.

Maybe it's just the people I hang around with, but this isn't a controversial opinion I don't think.

Nun wrote:I'm a still a big fan of Super Paper Mario, it's not as good as the first two for sure but it's criminal how often it gets lumped in with Sticker Star and Co in the trash and blamed for being the downfall of the series.

This might be but I agree.

OrangeRKN wrote:BOTW's weapon degradation and rain are good mechanics.

The weapon degradation never actually bothered me, but the rain? Explain yourself. :capnscotty:


Twilight Princess is still one of the best games of all time. The dungeon designs are top, Hyrule Field feels epic to ride through, and Midna is great. I prefer it to OoT.

Meteos on the Nintendo DS is the best puzzler of all time by a country mile.

Kid Icarus Uprising had one of the best control schemes I've ever played with... in the air.

The Wii U had a lot of really good ideas. To this day I think the Gamepad was a genuinely good controller (and telly remote).

Untitled Goose Game was a delightful experience and good game that fully deserved both its price tag and the amount of attention it got. (Not controversial around here, maybe, but it seems to be in other places.)

Dexit was a much-needed cut to a series that had over 800 species rampaging around, stupid numbers of attacks, and noticeable power creep.

User avatar
Poser
Banned
Joined in 2008
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne

PostRe: What is a POSITIVE controversial gaming opinion you hold
by Poser » Sat Feb 15, 2020 9:26 am

OrangeRKN wrote:
Wiimote + nunchuk is the best FPS control scheme.


Yessss.

I actually felt competent using it :lol:



Not sure if this counts as controversial because I know it has a lot of love on this forum, but Driveclub was a phenomenal game. Had it not launched broken it'd be regarded as an all-time great.

Image
User avatar
Hime
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: What is a POSITIVE controversial gaming opinion you hold
by Hime » Sat Feb 15, 2020 9:36 am

OrangeRKN wrote:
Hime wrote:Naughty Dog's games have actually gotten better with each game. If argue UC4 is the first really Uncharted game.


Not sure this counts as a positive opinion :lol:

Sorry, just woke up :lol: :(

Image
User avatar
Hime
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: What is a POSITIVE controversial gaming opinion you hold
by Hime » Sat Feb 15, 2020 9:37 am

OrangeRKN wrote:Fallout 76 is a brilliant game, and (while not directly comparable) much better than Fallout 4.

Skyward Sword is one of the better Zelda games, as is Phantom Hourglass.

BOTW's weapon degradation and rain are good mechanics.

Devil's Third had genuinely brilliant multiplayer, and the singleplayer is interesting and engaging.

Sword/Shield are very good pokemon games.

Jak II was a brilliant evolution for the series.

The Lost Frontier is a good Jak and Daxter game.

Steep is one of the best snowboarding games.

The PSP was the best handheld until the Switch.

Wiimote + nunchuk is the best FPS control scheme.

No way.

Image
User avatar
Ploiper
Member
Joined in 2018

PostRe: What is a POSITIVE controversial gaming opinion you hold
by Ploiper » Sat Feb 15, 2020 9:46 am

pokemon sword and shield is the best pokemon game since ruby and sapphire

:toot: :toot: :toot:

Return to “Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Antoniodgl, Green Gecko, Peter Crisp and 48 guests