YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.

Fed up talking videogames? Why?
User avatar
Squinty
Member
Joined in 2009
Location: Norn Oirland

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by Squinty » Mon Dec 31, 2018 8:14 am

Get some editing software. I use Vegas.

Humble might still have it on their bundle page, although it might be gone now. If it is gone, it probably won't be too long until they put it back up. It's a good investment, and if I can learn it, anyone can.

There are freeware video editing programs about as well.

User avatar
Pedz
Twitch Team
Joined in 2009

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by Pedz » Mon Dec 31, 2018 4:08 pm

I use Vegas Pro. It's a few hundred pounds, but I grabbed it on Humble Bundle when they were doing deals with it. Think Vegas Pro 15 was about £40 with a gooseberry fool load of other software.

ImageImage
User avatar
Squinty
Member
Joined in 2009
Location: Norn Oirland

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by Squinty » Mon Dec 31, 2018 5:35 pm

As Fat as Santa wrote:I use Vegas Pro. It's a few hundred pounds, but I grabbed it on Humble Bundle when they were doing deals with it. Think Vegas Pro 15 was about £40 with a gooseberry fool load of other software.


Yeah, I got Vegas 14 for something like 15 quid. I love it.

User avatar
Vermilion
Member
Joined in 2018
Location: Everywhere
Contact:

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by Vermilion » Mon Dec 31, 2018 5:51 pm

I just use Movie Maker, sure as hell ain't forking out a fortune when all i need is a basic editor anyways.

User avatar
Pedz
Twitch Team
Joined in 2009

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by Pedz » Mon Dec 31, 2018 6:40 pm

Only reason I stopped using free stuff was because it would crash after hours and hours of rendering. Pissed me right off.

ImageImage
User avatar
Floex
Member
Joined in 2008
Contact:

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by Floex » Mon Dec 31, 2018 7:14 pm

If you’re serious about video editing, get involved with Davinci Resolve. Can colour grade too. Learning is high for a beginner but it’s practically industry standard.

It’s free too and would suit your needs perfectly.

User avatar
HailToTheKingBaby!
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Contact:

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by HailToTheKingBaby! » Tue Jan 01, 2019 8:57 pm

Thanks all for the tips. Will take a look at the software.

I've ordered a webcam and microphone, should be coming Thursday then once got those I'll get something downloading and do some practice videos. Might then try and reshoot those first two a little better and replace the current ones.

Started to look at channel art stuff too, gonna try and sort that out properly tomorrow just need to figure out a good design that doesn't infringe anyone's copyright :lol:

Checkout "Suck My Review" - My Awesome New Movie Reviews Channel - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZohVW8cseYTDOwFROEnKWQ
User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by kerr9000 » Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:32 pm

In total honesty I would leave those videos how they are and just film new stuff, then maybe return to the old videos and redue them in the future , for example I left a Buck Rogers review and then remade it about 5 years latter, it was intresting to go back to because I had changed a little and had a bit of a new spin to put on it.

http://kerr9000.blogspot.co.uk/ For my Blog... https://www.youtube.com/user/kerr9000 for my YouTube channel. kerr9000_blog on Instagram. kerr9000 on Xbox, PS4 etc
User avatar
HailToTheKingBaby!
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Contact:

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by HailToTheKingBaby! » Thu Jan 03, 2019 7:33 pm

So I got some initial channel art up and today, my webcam and microphone came through and I downloaded VSDC

I've started fresh so I've just uploaded a channel intro video, I think it's come out better than the previous one.
I've also re-done the Bumblebee review which is uploading as I type this, I've decided to split that and the Holmes & Watson reviews into two separate ones rather than one long one as before.

Holmes & Watson is recorded but needs editing so should go up in a day or so, I'll then redo the Evil Dead 4k bluray ones..

Would love feedback on the Bumblebee review, I think it's better than the original - I'm still finding my feet a little with it all and how VSDC works but getting there I think.


https://youtu.be/qcqQnMmahvo

Thanks to everyone who's checked it out and given feedback so far, feels like made some good progress already which I wouldn't have without it all so cheers :)

Checkout "Suck My Review" - My Awesome New Movie Reviews Channel - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZohVW8cseYTDOwFROEnKWQ
User avatar
Slayerx
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by Slayerx » Thu Jan 03, 2019 7:52 pm

Good work.

Look forward to hearing how bad Holmes & Watson is :lol:

User avatar
HailToTheKingBaby!
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Contact:

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by HailToTheKingBaby! » Thu Jan 03, 2019 10:17 pm

Slayerx wrote:Good work.

Look forward to hearing how bad Holmes & Watson is :lol:


Cheers - It's scheduled to go live at 10am tomorrow morning, enjoy :)

Checkout "Suck My Review" - My Awesome New Movie Reviews Channel - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZohVW8cseYTDOwFROEnKWQ
User avatar
Venom
Member ♥
Joined in 2008
Location: London
Contact:

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by Venom » Thu Jan 03, 2019 11:07 pm

HailToTheKingBaby! wrote:Would love feedback on the Bumblebee review, I think it's better than the original - I'm still finding my feet a little with it all and how VSDC works but getting there I think.


Hi! It's always a bit strange when I see the face behind a GRcader's avatar because you realise there is a human being there! I watched your Bumblebee video and channel trailer and it's a promising start. First things first, you are able to talk about your topic without a teleprompter or reading from a script which is fantastic, because it immediately makes you come across as more sincere and gives you an air of authority, I think this is probably the most important skill to have - I wish I had it.

You are talking softly, perhaps because you are naturally reserved or because there are other people in the house so you feel quite inhibited? But I bet on other occasions you can be quite lively so I would like to see and hear that in your delivery. You are clearly passionate about movies so let your viewers know that you have something to say that's worth listening to.

The sound is slightly out of sync with both videos, find out what's causing it. And this is just a personal view on your background, I can see a couple of sofas, a coat stand? a DVD shelf, a blanket covering something up, i'm distracted and looking at all the things in your home. Maybe you sitting in front of your DVD book shelf would be simpler and underline the movie expert theme. You've created a logo for your brand which is good, but when you show the movie shots you have two images on screen, so perhaps experiment with a png version so it removes the grey and just shows the tongue which can be less obtrusive, but that's just personal preference issue.

Overall, great stuff and well done for doing something that interests you!

User avatar
Vermilion
Member
Joined in 2018
Location: Everywhere
Contact:

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by Vermilion » Fri Jan 04, 2019 7:41 am

Venom’s Christmas Carol wrote:Hi! It's always a bit strange when I see the face behind a GRcader's avatar because you realise there is a human being there!


Not always, i really am an orange lion.


Return to “Stuff”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Albear, Blue Eyes, Jezo, Mogster, Rax, suzzopher, Vermilion, VlaSoul and 56 guests