YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.

Fed up talking videogames? Why?
User avatar
HailToTheKingBaby!
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Contact:

PostYouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by HailToTheKingBaby! » Sat Dec 29, 2018 5:03 pm

I've recently found myself with a bit more spare time on my hands after splitting up with my other half so decided to start a hobby. As I watch a lot of films, I decided to have a go at doing some movie reviews on YouTube.

I've got no specialist equipment or software so at the moment it's literally just me recording them on my phone so it's all very amateurish, I'll be looking at getting some basic equipment etc.. later on if stick with it.

For now though just wanted to share and get some feedback. I'm not expecting this to get huge or anything like that, specially in its current form it's just for my own amusement as much as anything but the first video is up so if anyone is happy to give it a watch and let me know any thoughts etc.. it's my first time doing anything like this so as I said, it's very amateurish but hopefully will improve if keep doing them.

https://youtu.be/QjJa8Pic9tc

Thanks!

Checkout "Suck My Review" - My Awesome New Movie Reviews Channel - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZohVW8cseYTDOwFROEnKWQ
User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by kerr9000 » Sat Dec 29, 2018 11:27 pm

First things first I love your user name on here, I am a huge fan of Bruce Campbell and the Evil dead films I have an autographed picture of him on my wall so bonus points there.

I watched your vid and id say its pretty good... did you read off a script you had prepared or addlib it on the fly?
To improve you could throw a few pics in or even bits of film trailers either side by side with your face still on screen or flash between the two.
To say this is done on a phone its good
I would possibly say look at doing a few old films that are a bit culty .... stuff that everyone touches on its hard to get attention stuff with smaller but loyal fans can be easier to attract viewers with.

I subbed to you as hey im trying on YouTube myself and it can be pretty darn hard to get any traction on there so we all need all the help we can get

I have done little bits on film but largly stick to games but I always used to want to try for a sort of Video review thing on the lines of Syskal and Ebert with two people arguing etc .... I quiet like the new cinemassacre video store stuff there doing now.

http://kerr9000.blogspot.co.uk/ For my Blog... https://www.youtube.com/user/kerr9000 for my YouTube channel. kerr9000_blog on Instagram. kerr9000 on Xbox, PS4 etc
User avatar
RichardUK
Member
Joined in 2015
Location: Nottinghamshire & Bavaria
Contact:

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by RichardUK » Sat Dec 29, 2018 11:33 pm

Disappointingly thin tree that also needs lights and I found the meerkat being at a jaunty angle distracting

Image
Image
'Put on a proper suit, do up your tie and sing the national anthem'
User avatar
Nibble
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Big Tuna

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by Nibble » Sun Dec 30, 2018 12:08 am

Stopped at the end of the Bumblebee review as I haven't seen (and never will) the Holmes & Watson film. I definitely think that you were pretty spot on with your assessment of Bumblebee, so that's a pretty good start.

However, for god's sake, man, get some oil for that squeaky chair! And even if you do, stop fidgeting so much. It's pretty distracting.

Also, there's quite a lot of "em" punctuation. That's not a deal-breaker, but it's definitely something to consider.

Overall, it's a good job, though, and would potentially watch more.

User avatar
HailToTheKingBaby!
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Contact:

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by HailToTheKingBaby! » Sun Dec 30, 2018 12:21 am

Thanks for the feedback all. Yeah I noticed the chair squeaks when I played it back, I'll sort that for the next one (or try to fidget less).

I did ad-lib it which is why there's a lot of "erms", i was originally just checking out how well the video turned out on my phone to see if it would be good enough but then thought it was ok enough to put up rather than redoing it. I'll look at making some notes at least next time beforehand though which should help.

@kerr9000 I'll check your channel out too. Good idea on the older films, I've been buying a few older films on 4k Blu-ray so might review some of those. I got Evil Dead 1 and 2 recently so might have a go at those next :)

@richardyulek - tree does have lights, just wasn't plugged in. Did have more tinsel too but my cats been attacking/destroying it. I shall reposition the meerkat for the next one.

Checkout "Suck My Review" - My Awesome New Movie Reviews Channel - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZohVW8cseYTDOwFROEnKWQ
User avatar
HailToTheKingBaby!
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Contact:

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by HailToTheKingBaby! » Sun Dec 30, 2018 12:25 am

kerr9000 wrote:First things first I love your user name on here, I am a huge fan of Bruce Campbell and the Evil dead films I have an autographed picture of him on my wall so bonus points there.


Just had to ask, did you actually meet Mr Campbell for his autograph or buy it online? I've got a fair bit of Evil Dead /Bruce merch but a signed photo is one thing I'm missing - very jealous!

Checkout "Suck My Review" - My Awesome New Movie Reviews Channel - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZohVW8cseYTDOwFROEnKWQ
User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by kerr9000 » Sun Dec 30, 2018 7:11 am

I got it from a collectables shop, I wish I'd met him. They were shutting down so it was a lot cheaper than it had been.

Bubba hotep would be a cool film to review.

The only famous people who I have really met are the ones who have attended Nottingham,s EM con. I went to the first 3 of them.

http://kerr9000.blogspot.co.uk/ For my Blog... https://www.youtube.com/user/kerr9000 for my YouTube channel. kerr9000_blog on Instagram. kerr9000 on Xbox, PS4 etc
User avatar
HailToTheKingBaby!
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Contact:

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by HailToTheKingBaby! » Sun Dec 30, 2018 9:32 am

That's spooky. I live near Nottingham. Went em-con last year, met the guys from Red Dwarf and ended up in a lift with the guy who played Vandall Savage in Legends Of Tomorrow.

Got most of my Evil Dead bits a while back from "The Cinema Store" in the cornerhouse in Notts before it shut down.

Checkout "Suck My Review" - My Awesome New Movie Reviews Channel - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZohVW8cseYTDOwFROEnKWQ
User avatar
Tsunade
Member
Joined in 2018

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by Tsunade » Sun Dec 30, 2018 1:02 pm

Ignore Richard. The meerkat and tree weren't distracting, just the squeaky chair!

Image
Image
User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by kerr9000 » Sun Dec 30, 2018 1:29 pm

HailToTheKingBaby! wrote:That's spooky. I live near Nottingham. Went em-con last year, met the guys from Red Dwarf and ended up in a lift with the guy who played Vandall Savage in Legends Of Tomorrow.

Got most of my Evil Dead bits a while back from "The Cinema Store" in the cornerhouse in Notts before it shut down.


I used to go in that shop myself so that is really spooky. I live in a small X mining town near Nottingham but work in Nottingham. Yeah all the Red Dwarf actors are amazing, when I met them it was a real pleasure, Danny John Jules was telling me about work he had done to raise money for epilepsy , so I told him I'd got it and said on behalf of us fitters and shakers thanks and gave him a big handshake.

http://kerr9000.blogspot.co.uk/ For my Blog... https://www.youtube.com/user/kerr9000 for my YouTube channel. kerr9000_blog on Instagram. kerr9000 on Xbox, PS4 etc
User avatar
HailToTheKingBaby!
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Contact:

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by HailToTheKingBaby! » Sun Dec 30, 2018 1:36 pm

That's awesome re: Danny john jules. As for the small mining town, I also live in a small mining town near Nottingham :shifty:

Cheers for the other feedback everyone. I've just uploaded a second video for the Evil Dead 1 and 2 4K Blu-ray's. The chair is less squeaky this time but my cat decided to join in mid way so there's so bell sounds from his collar. I'll prob redo it at some point but out it up for now.

https://youtu.be/cYXxSD4BC6o

Checkout "Suck My Review" - My Awesome New Movie Reviews Channel - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZohVW8cseYTDOwFROEnKWQ
User avatar
Slayerx
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by Slayerx » Sun Dec 30, 2018 2:32 pm

HailToTheKingBaby! wrote:That's awesome re: Danny john jules. As for the small mining town, I also live in a small mining town near Nottingham :shifty:

Cheers for the other feedback everyone. I've just uploaded a second video for the Evil Dead 1 and 2 4K Blu-ray's. The chair is less squeaky this time but my cat decided to join in mid way so there's so bell sounds from his collar. I'll prob redo it at some point but out it up for now.

https://youtu.be/cYXxSD4BC6o


Subscribed :)

I watch Chris Stuckmann for my movie reviews as I like his review style and I enjoy supporting people trying new things :)

Last edited by Slayerx on Sun Dec 30, 2018 5:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by kerr9000 » Sun Dec 30, 2018 5:36 pm

HailToTheKingBaby! wrote:That's awesome re: Danny john jules. As for the small mining town, I also live in a small mining town near Nottingham :shifty:

Cheers for the other feedback everyone. I've just uploaded a second video for the Evil Dead 1 and 2 4K Blu-ray's. The chair is less squeaky this time but my cat decided to join in mid way so there's so bell sounds from his collar. I'll prob redo it at some point but out it up for now.

https://youtu.be/cYXxSD4BC6o



Oh dear a small mining town you could be my neighbour then lol

I will have to give your new Video a watch as I have a Evil Dead video im working on, something a little bit like a review but also a bit weird.

http://kerr9000.blogspot.co.uk/ For my Blog... https://www.youtube.com/user/kerr9000 for my YouTube channel. kerr9000_blog on Instagram. kerr9000 on Xbox, PS4 etc
User avatar
Vermilion
Member
Joined in 2018
Location: Everywhere
Contact:

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by Vermilion » Sun Dec 30, 2018 6:13 pm

One thing i will advise (even though it's still early days), is that you should try to create a proper piece of channel art and add a welcome video to your main channel page so it can greet any visiting non-subscribers.

Doing so gives your channel a more professional look and feel (without you even having to do very much), and that will help form a stronger base for when you start to produce more content.

User avatar
HailToTheKingBaby!
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Contact:

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by HailToTheKingBaby! » Sun Dec 30, 2018 9:04 pm

Vermi-Claus wrote:One thing i will advise (even though it's still early days), is that you should try to create a proper piece of channel art and add a welcome video to your main channel page so it can greet any visiting non-subscribers.

Doing so gives your channel a more professional look and feel (without you even having to do very much), and that will help form a stronger base for when you start to produce more content.


Good thinking. It is on my to-do list but will take a look next day or two see what can come up with.

Checkout "Suck My Review" - My Awesome New Movie Reviews Channel - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZohVW8cseYTDOwFROEnKWQ
User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by kerr9000 » Sun Dec 30, 2018 9:14 pm

HailToTheKingBaby! wrote:That's awesome re: Danny john jules. As for the small mining town, I also live in a small mining town near Nottingham :shifty:

Cheers for the other feedback everyone. I've just uploaded a second video for the Evil Dead 1 and 2 4K Blu-ray's. The chair is less squeaky this time but my cat decided to join in mid way so there's so bell sounds from his collar. I'll prob redo it at some point but out it up for now.

https://youtu.be/cYXxSD4BC6o


I watched your second video and you felt a lot more natural in it, its a definite improvement

I hope you keep on doing these and keep on improving, its great to see other people trying diffrent things on YouTube and its nice to be able to talk back and forwards with people about what they are up to and hows its going.

http://kerr9000.blogspot.co.uk/ For my Blog... https://www.youtube.com/user/kerr9000 for my YouTube channel. kerr9000_blog on Instagram. kerr9000 on Xbox, PS4 etc
User avatar
HailToTheKingBaby!
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Contact:

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by HailToTheKingBaby! » Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:05 pm

kerr9000 wrote:
HailToTheKingBaby! wrote:That's awesome re: Danny john jules. As for the small mining town, I also live in a small mining town near Nottingham :shifty:

Cheers for the other feedback everyone. I've just uploaded a second video for the Evil Dead 1 and 2 4K Blu-ray's. The chair is less squeaky this time but my cat decided to join in mid way so there's so bell sounds from his collar. I'll prob redo it at some point but out it up for now.

https://youtu.be/cYXxSD4BC6o


I watched your second video and you felt a lot more natural in it, its a definite improvement

I hope you keep on doing these and keep on improving, its great to see other people trying diffrent things on YouTube and its nice to be able to talk back and forwards with people about what they are up to and hows its going.


Thanks dude. Took about four attempts on that one as i either tripped up over my words or got something wrong but other than my stupid cat deciding to run past and start playing off camera that one seemed ok.. ISH.

Can anyone recommend any (ideally cheap) video editing software good for this kinda stuff? Nothing fancy just something where I could snip out any mistakes easily and maybe insert the odd image or video clip and maybe put together some kind of intro video..? I'd like to get a decent camera and microphone eventually but phone seems ok for now so think something just to edit the videos in would be a good start. If nothing else, it'd be good to be able to snip any mistakes rather than having to do the whole thing over :lol:

Checkout "Suck My Review" - My Awesome New Movie Reviews Channel - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZohVW8cseYTDOwFROEnKWQ
User avatar
RichardUK
Member
Joined in 2015
Location: Nottinghamshire & Bavaria
Contact:

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by RichardUK » Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:32 pm

kerr9000 wrote:
HailToTheKingBaby! wrote:That's awesome re: Danny john jules. As for the small mining town, I also live in a small mining town near Nottingham :shifty:

Cheers for the other feedback everyone. I've just uploaded a second video for the Evil Dead 1 and 2 4K Blu-ray's. The chair is less squeaky this time but my cat decided to join in mid way so there's so bell sounds from his collar. I'll prob redo it at some point but out it up for now.

https://youtu.be/cYXxSD4BC6o



Oh dear a small mining town you could be my neighbour then lol

I will have to give your new Video a watch as I have a Evil Dead video im working on, something a little bit like a review but also a bit weird.


To get in on the ex mining Nottinghamshire town chat I was born in Worksop and now live at Rufford (near Ollerton and Bilsthorpe)

Snowballday wrote:Ignore Richard.


Thanks ;)

Image
Image
'Put on a proper suit, do up your tie and sing the national anthem'
User avatar
Rocsteady
Member
Joined in 2008

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by Rocsteady » Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:43 pm

Straight away I would say to declutter the background, speak up, sit up straighter (which projects your voice better), and inject more energy and passion into what you're saying. Even just having a strong coffee beforehand will help with this.

Image
User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: YouTube Movie Review Channel.. Feedback Wanted.
by kerr9000 » Mon Dec 31, 2018 5:13 am

HailToTheKingBaby! wrote:Can anyone recommend any (ideally cheap) video editing software good for this kinda stuff? Nothing fancy just something where I could snip out any mistakes easily and maybe insert the odd image or video clip and maybe put together some kind of intro video..? I'd like to get a decent camera and microphone eventually but phone seems ok for now so think something just to edit the videos in would be a good start. If nothing else, it'd be good to be able to snip any mistakes rather than having to do the whole thing over :lol:


I use Windows Movie Maker and VSDC Video Editor both of which are free , windows claim movie maker doesnt work on the most recent windows but if you read stuff online you can get it up and running. As for Camera no idea I dont use them, I have a policy of basically not showing my face although I have shown it in the past when I did a short set of videos showing me trying various forigen drinks.. As far as Micropones I use a Blue Snowball which I got off Amazon and I recently added a pop filter to it.... The Snowball is about £50 and you can get a filter for about £5. I edit the audio on stuff with audacity which is free and if I want to alter any still images either for thumb nails or for use in videos then I use GIMP which is a free graphics program

http://kerr9000.blogspot.co.uk/ For my Blog... https://www.youtube.com/user/kerr9000 for my YouTube channel. kerr9000_blog on Instagram. kerr9000 on Xbox, PS4 etc

Return to “Stuff”