KERR9000 Horror Movie Reviews

Fed up talking videogames? Why?
User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: KERR9000 Horror Movie Reviews
by kerr9000 » Fri Apr 01, 2022 10:30 pm

Reviewing Freddy VS Jason made me realise I have never touched Friday the 13th before so here is my review of Friday the 13th the original


User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: KERR9000 Horror Movie Reviews
by kerr9000 » Sat Apr 09, 2022 8:29 pm

My Review of the Box a film based on the short story Button Button


User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: KERR9000 Horror Movie Reviews
by kerr9000 » Sun Apr 10, 2022 3:14 pm

My Review of the 2021 Horror Comedy Black Friday


User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: KERR9000 Horror Movie Reviews
by kerr9000 » Mon Apr 11, 2022 10:10 pm

My Review of Crazy Clowns AKA The Luniticler , you have got to see this


User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: KERR9000 Horror Movie Reviews
by kerr9000 » Fri Apr 15, 2022 7:46 pm

My Review of Paranormal Prison


User avatar
Barnsy!
Member
Joined in 2019

PostRe: KERR9000 Horror Movie Reviews
by Barnsy! » Sat Apr 16, 2022 2:40 pm

Nice to see a bunch more reviews Kerr :D

kerr9000 wrote:My Review of Crazy Clowns AKA The Luniticler , you have got to see this



Ha ha, high praise then; from "you've got to see this", "this is the quickest I've reviewed a horror movie after watching - I just had to share with it with the rest of the world" - I thought this was to be some low budget, but high concept, hidden gem you was enthused by and couldn't wait to gush over. The reveal it wasn't that made we chuckle. Won't be watching the film but enjoyed the review.

User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: KERR9000 Horror Movie Reviews
by kerr9000 » Sat Apr 16, 2022 3:16 pm

Barnsy! wrote:Nice to see a bunch more reviews Kerr :D

kerr9000 wrote:My Review of Crazy Clowns AKA The Luniticler , you have got to see this



Ha ha, high praise then; from "you've got to see this", "this is the quickest I've reviewed a horror movie after watching - I just had to share with it with the rest of the world" - I thought this was to be some low budget, but high concept, hidden gem you was enthused by and couldn't wait to gush over. The reveal it wasn't that made we chuckle. Won't be watching the film but enjoyed the review.


Yeah I meant more you have to see it because it is sooooo bad, I can get just as excited by finding a new level of dumpster fire as I can by finding a new classic lol

User avatar
Barnsy!
Member
Joined in 2019

PostRe: KERR9000 Horror Movie Reviews
by Barnsy! » Sat Apr 16, 2022 10:04 pm

kerr9000 wrote:My Review of Paranormal Prison



I know you didn't enjoy this film, but do you dislike 'found footage' type films, in general. When they're done right, I think its a good way of telling a story that really suits horror - I buy it more and get immersed and theres also an uncomfortable sense of I suppose voyeurism and you feel kind of complicit in the events of the film which adds to the tension.

There's a found footage film on Amazon Prime called 'Exhibit A', which I would recommend. Its about a 'happy' family who start to unravel. I would imagine it was made on a small budget and it does take a while for the horror to kick in, but it does subtly build up tension throughout. I thought it was well acted and I got invested in the characters - also the 'found footage' angle wasn't just a cheap framing device it was crucial to the story being told and quite realistic. Worth a look.

User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: KERR9000 Horror Movie Reviews
by kerr9000 » Sat Apr 16, 2022 10:08 pm

Barnsy! wrote:
kerr9000 wrote:My Review of Paranormal Prison



I know you didn't enjoy this film, but do you dislike 'found footage' type films, in general. When they're done right, I think its a good way of telling a story that really suits horror - I buy it more and get immersed and theres also an uncomfortable sense of I suppose voyeurism and you feel kind of complicit in the events of the film which adds to the tension.

There's a found footage film on Amazon Prime called 'Exhibit A', which I would recommend. Its about a 'happy' family who start to unravel. I would imagine it was made on a small budget and it does take a while for the horror to kick in, but it does subtly build up tension throughout. I thought it was well acted and I got invested in the characters - also the 'found footage' angle wasn't just a cheap framing device it was crucial to the story being told and quite realistic. Worth a look.


I have no issue with films that use found footage if done well... for example I think I enjoyed Diary of the Dead more than most people, and quiet liked the original Blair Witch on my first viewing.

I will have to look up Exhibit A

User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: KERR9000 Horror Movie Reviews
by kerr9000 » Tue Apr 19, 2022 4:44 pm

My Review of the 2019 Horror Film Two Heads Creek


User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: KERR9000 Horror Movie Reviews
by kerr9000 » Sun May 01, 2022 3:58 pm

My Review of Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2022


User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: KERR9000 Horror Movie Reviews
by kerr9000 » Mon May 02, 2022 6:00 pm

My Review of Candyman 2021


User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: KERR9000 Horror Movie Reviews
by kerr9000 » Fri May 06, 2022 10:42 pm

My Review of the Horror Anthology All the Creatures Were Stirring


User avatar
Barnsy!
Member
Joined in 2019

PostRe: KERR9000 Horror Movie Reviews
by Barnsy! » Sat May 07, 2022 5:42 pm

kerr9000 wrote:My Review of Candyman 2021



I love the Jordan Peele films! I would say Get Out > US > Candyman. But they're all great! Looking forward to the new one 'Nope' this summer.

User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: KERR9000 Horror Movie Reviews
by kerr9000 » Mon Jun 20, 2022 3:59 pm

My Review of Scream 2022 the 5th Scream film


User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: KERR9000 Horror Movie Reviews
by kerr9000 » Wed Jun 22, 2022 4:18 pm

My Review of the horror film The Silence


User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: KERR9000 Horror Movie Reviews
by kerr9000 » Wed Jun 22, 2022 9:32 pm

My review of the Aussie Horror The Furies


User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: KERR9000 Horror Movie Reviews
by kerr9000 » Thu Jun 23, 2022 8:43 pm

My Review of the horror film You Are Not my Mother


User avatar
kerr9000
Member
Joined in 2013

PostRe: KERR9000 Horror Movie Reviews
by kerr9000 » Fri Jul 15, 2022 3:47 pm

My review of the original Creepshow


User avatar
gaminglegend
Member
Joined in 2008
Location: North East, UK

PostRe: KERR9000 Horror Movie Reviews
by gaminglegend » Fri Jul 15, 2022 5:31 pm

Barnsy! wrote:
kerr9000 wrote:My Review of Candyman 2021



I love the Jordan Peele films! I would say Get Out > US > Candyman. But they're all great! Looking forward to the new one 'Nope' this summer.

I really didn't enjoy the Peele version of Candyman, didn't find it scary, didn't find it very interesting or compelling. Agree with Get Out and Us though. Excited for Nope

Check out the GRCADE Beer Money Thread - Free share (with Robinhood), £20 with HSBC new app Zing & Bank Switch Offers £££! :msgreen:
https://grcade.co.uk/t:the-making-beer-money-thread

Return to “Stuff”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: floydfreak, Gideon, Grumpy David, Kriken, Met, Peter Crisp, Rawrgna, shy guy 64 and 505 guests